Down Time is Time Well Spent

256775616223900941_utZDpGsz_b

For the past six weeks, I have been burning the candle at both ends, and now, I am left with a pile of melted wax that no longer resembles the candle that once burned brightly.  So, it came as no surprise at all that the first day of my eleven days off from work was consumed with a lingering cold that left me with a nagging headache and little energy, and a similar fate befell my youngest daughter.  So, we declared a “pajama day” and settled in for a marathon of Christmas shows, hot tea, and rest.  Today, we were all about self-care, and we hope that it pays off for a healthier tomorrow.

In addition to indulging in resting, rehydrating, and medicating (as prescribed, of course), I also found myself partaking in some re-evaluating, regrouping, and recharging, with some planning and dreaming thrown in for good measure.  I read a quote earlier that said something to the effect that if we choose to ignore what life is telling us that life will do whatever it takes to get our attention.  Life definitely has captured my attention with this pre-Christmas cold, and I am listening.  I know that when things begin to get stressful that I need to be diligent with my self-care routine, but that diligence seems to disappear when I need it the most.  So, I look at illness as life’s wake up call to return to what I know how to do to take care of myself.  Today, I may not have felt up to doing much, but I have a game plan in place to enact as soon as my head stops pounding and I don’t feel the need to nap every few hours.  Some days doing nothing means everything, in order to be able to do all that you want to do.  One must be well rested in body, mind, baby soul, and spirit to make dreams come true and to reach goals, and I want to be ready.

The one thing I managed to do for someone else today is related to a woman who means the world to me, my paternal grandmother.  We may live hundreds of miles a part, but she always is in my heart, thoughts, and prayers.  She always has believed in me and shown me unconditional love and acceptance, and she always has been one of the people who makes me feel special.  I love and respect her immensely, and I miss her terribly. 

As she prepares for her 94th birthday, she made no bones about the fact that she does not want or need anything for Christmas, but to not do something for her is unacceptable.  I know that she enjoys receiving flowers, so, I sent her a Christmas bouquet of gorgeous flowers that I hope brighten her day and remind her that she is thought of and loved well after those flowers wilt and die.  She deserves so much more, but in reality, there is no gift or material possession to convey what she means to me and how much I love her. 

I certainly hope tomorrow finds my daughter and I in much better health, because there’s a lot more good to be done in the world at large and my own little world.  Today, I did what I could, and it was enough.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

