Parting Is Not Such Sweet Sorrow

395753885974719366_3NREkiLa_b

As the year comes to an end, I am mourning the end of a friendship that has helped to see me through the ups and downs of the past couple years.  Even though the end came abruptly, it has been coming for some time actually, but like I tend to do with things that are painful, I chose to ignore the warning signs for as long as I could and was loyal and trusting to a fault.  My Pen Pal and I can agree to disagree as to why our friendship ended and wherein lies the blame, but the bottom line is that I made a tough decision that has resulted in a lot of pain for me, as I miss this person being part of my life and second guess myself and my decision.  Doing the right thing is not always easy indeed, and reaping the benefits from a good decision is not always readily seen or felt.

So, I am left with a bittersweet mixture of happy and sad memories, painful answers and unanswered questions, replays of what I did right and what I did wrong, visions of the happy life that my Pen Pal now has without me in it, and a familiar blend of anxiety and depression.  Even though I have friends and family to support me, I still feel very much alone without my ‘go to’ person.  I have learned a lot of lessons over the past two years, but the most painful lesson that I continue to struggle with is that friends do leave and that life stops for no-one. I have yet to learn how to rebound so easily and happily as others appear to do when we part ways, and I also have yet to learn how to not sink into an abyss of self-doubt, self-loathing, and self-pity with every ‘good-bye’.  I am trying, but I am struggling, which is embarrassing, as it shows how I allow others to influence and define my own self-worth more than I care to admit.  Confession is good for the soul,though, so,there you have it. There is most certainly more work for me to do on my own in the new year. 

It is my hope and prayer that this painful ending leads to a new beginning of some sort, and it also is my hope and prayer that I can get through this latest loss with grace, strength, and courage.  It’s easier for me to believe in others than it is to believe in myself, but I am working on changing that and embracing the opportunities that await me.  I have sensed that 2013 is going to be absolutely amazing, and as I grieve and heal, I am hoping that this time next year finds me celebrating personal and professional success and being truly happy on my own.  Here’s to more sweet than sorrow!

That’s another story . . .



Categories: That's Another Story

Tags: , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Hi there,

    I like your post because you cover an area of grief that isn’t talked about much – the loss of a friendship, not through death, but through a parting of ways. It’s refreshing to see grief talked about in this way. I’m so sorry to hear about the end, but someone once told me that, “People come into your life for a reason, a season, or a lifetime”.

    We can never predict which one a person will be, but no matter what they enter your life for, you are guaranteed to learn something.

    And don’t feel bad – I actually take things like this much more personally than I care to admit, as well…hey, the positive is that it shows we care :).

    Love that you ended on a good note, too!

    Best to you!

    -Sunny

    • Sunny, thank you so much for reading my blog and for sharing your own experiences with me! The loss of a friend feels very much like a death, and it is definitely a grieving process. My heart is heavy, as I begin the task of healing, and I look forward to when the ache I feel over the loss of this special friend lessons. It has left what my very wise and gracious friend, Mary, calls a scar on my heart. Although I was summarily replaced, I know that this person will not be easily and readily replaced and forgotten. I can only hope to learn from this relationship and do better in the future. When I am hurting, it is difficult to see the bigger picture, but I pray that better days are ahead indeed.

Leave a Reply

