A Good Day to Do Some Good

34973334575799438_Rm4uLVib_b

Today was another good day to do some good for myself and for others, and having these two things to focus on made an ordinary day feel a bit more special.  After beginning the new year under the weather, I made the decision that tomorrow is my New Year’s Day Do Over, as it is the first full week of the new year, and I finally feel physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually up to embracing the opportunity to make this year absolutely amazing.  So, today was a dress rehearsal of sorts to get ready for tomorrow and the year to follow.

The best thing that I did for myself today was to resume consciously taking care of my body as a way to thank it for all it has done, and continues to do, for me each and every day.  Overall, I am in great health now, despite the challenges of infertility, cervical cancer, and ulcerative colitis, and all of my dreams and goals require that I be at my physical best to reach and/or appreciate these things that I hold dear to my heart.  I got plenty of sleep last night, which is one my primary physical goals this year, and I practiced deep breathing throughout the day to deal with the anxious feelings when they arose.  I made sure that I took the vitamins, supplements, and ulcerative colitis medication that help to heal and protect my body, and I took time to eat three nutritious meals and snacks to nourish my body.  I also made sure that I took time out during the day for a few minutes of peace and quiet to give thanks for even the simplest of things, such as how good hot green tea tastes on a cold afternoon.  Being kind to myself physically made me feel better on every level, and it gave me motivation to hit the ground running tomorrow.

The one thing that I did for others was to make a monetary donation to one of my favorite local charities.  Money may not buy happiness, but working for a non-profit organization, I can tell you that when used properly, money can do a lot of good for a lot of people.  Making a monetary donation is less personal than directly volunteering, but I know that this charitable organization will use my donation to directly help the people it serves.  One of the lessons I emphasize with my daughters is the importance of sharing what you have with others, and while I wish I had more money to donate to all of the charities that I support, I know that every little bit counts, and that as my wealth increases, so will my ability to contribute more.  I am just grateful I can help at all right now.

So, that’s how I chose to help myself and others today, and I hope that I really did some good.  I do know that when I make good choices, it definitely feels good.  I now want to step up my efforts even more, because I know that I am capable of doing better and doing more.  This may have been a dress rehearsal for tomorrow’s belated kick off of 2013, but life most certainly is not a dress rehearsal at all.  The time to do good is now or never, and I am thankful for this time indeed.

Just one thing each day. . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

