Learning, Healing, and Giving

13510867603957298_nU9rRql7_b

I have learned more about myself in the past two years than I have in all of the preceding years combined, and that learning curve was accelerated when I made one of the best decisions for myself a few months ago.  When I was overwhelmed by a resurgence of the anxiety and depression, I knew that I had to do something to address the underlying issues, to heal, and to move forward with my life.  Rather than return to therapy in the traditional sense, as I had done several times before, I chose a different route this time.

I followed my intuition and decided to work with a woman I respect professionally and personally and who happens to be a Wellbriety coach, and I have been meeting with her on a regular basis for the past few months.  The Wellbriety Movement is a holistic, Native American approach to healing, and Trude has become my guide and mentor in this healing process.  To learn more about Wellbriety, please, go to www.whitebison.org

I spent this afternoon with Trude focusing the lessons I have learned, and continue to learn, and my vision and goals for 2013.  Taking this time for myself to reflect, process, share, dream, and heal was the best gift I could give to myself today and any other day, for that matter, and I value this time greatly.  Since I am also a therapist, it can be difficult for me to let my guard down in a therapeutic setting, but with Trude mentoring me and teaching me, I am able to be myself and to let go of the thoughts and feelings that have weighed me down with anxiety and depression.  As always, Trude was the voice of reason, the wise elder, the gentle soul, and the reassuring counselor, and I left feeling brighter and lighter.  My wise decision to seek out Trude’s help continues to pay off today and every day, and I am immensely grateful.

To show my gratitude for Trude’s willingness to share her wisdom, life experiences, the Wellbriety principles, etc., I surprised her with a small token of my appreciation today.  When I think of Trude, the word ‘courage’ comes to mind, so, I gave her a bracelet that symbolizes this quality that she possesses in spades.  It does not begin to convey the appreciation I have for Trude’s positive impact on my life, but it was nice to be able to do something kind for her today.  She deserves that and much more.  Giving back feels even better than receiving indeed.  If you don’t believe me, I encourage you to give it a try, and you’ll see exactly what I mean.

Just one thing each day . . .

 

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

