On the Mend

208643395208390624_ffGPcC0g_b

My older daughter and I spent what I really hope is our last day recovering from our respective ailments cuddled up together on the couch.  I definitely will not miss either one of us being ill, but truthfully, I will miss the one-on-one time with my daughter, but I will find more time to do this, other than when we are not feeling well.  That aspect of being home sick has been heavenly.  So, my quest to do just one thing each day for myself and others was limited again, but I still found subtle ways to do both.

I feel like I am on the road to recovery, so, today, to ensure that I continue on this path of good health and wellness, I indulged in some more self-care.  I drank more hot green tea and water, and I made healthy food choices.  I read passages from two of my favorite inspirational books, “May Cause Miracles” by Gabrielle Bernstein and “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin, while I rested, and both books put me in a positive frame of mind and kept me focused and in the moment.  I took care of some simple household tasks, such as doing laundry and paying bills, which helped me feel more in control and organized, as I ease back into my normal daily routine.  I engaged in some chats with my daughter and exchanged texts with some of my friends that left me smiling and laughing, which made me feel better in every way.  Self-care never felt quite as good as it did today.

Since I wasn’t able to leave the confines of my home for another day, I had to find some creative ways to do something positive for others that did not involve direct contact.  I came up with several ways to do some good without spreading my germs or leaving my sick child.  I once again sent some text messages to several friends who are struggling at the moment to lend them my support and to remind them that they are cared about and loved, and their responses indicated that these reminders were well-received and appreciated.  I made some monetary donations to our local parish that we are members of to support its ministries, and I gathered some of our gently used clothing and household goods to donate to a favorite local charity.  These small gestures may have lacked a personal touch, but I certainly hope that they still make the recipients’ day a bit brighter. 

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

