A Mother’s Touch

524880531541115743_pbFVkzqa_b

 

Stop me, if you’ve heard this one before?  I was homebound for most of the day, due to illness, which limited what I could to help others and myself.  Yep; my older daughter and I ended the week with another day of snuggling on the couch, but today, she was the only one who was under the weather, as I traded in my dual roles of patient and caregiver for the solo gig as her caregiver.  This week at home has been bittersweet, with the bitter parts being that  it has made me miss the days when I primarily was a stay-at-home mom and that I dislike my daughter not feeling well and the sweet part being that I was able to spend a lot of time just cuddling her, which was a special treat indeed.  It also gave me the opportunity to do something for her today, which she thanked me for throughout the day.

This morning, I woke up feeling well enough to return to work, so, I got up, showered, and dressed for work before waking up my daughters for school.  When I woke up my older daughter, she said that she felt well enough to go to school, even though she did not look well to me.  I asked her several times if she were sure she was okay, and she repeatedly answered in the affirmative.  When we were preparing to leave, she suddenly burst into tears, and after composing herself, she finally admitted that she really did not feel well, but she did not want me to miss another day of work.  That statement broke my heart.  I reassured her that she was my priority and that I would be more than glad to stay home to take care of her, and that is precisely what I did.  When I got her settled back on the couch, I asked her what she needed, and she responded, “I just want you to snuggle with me”, and that is how we spent our day together.  I realize that this is a repeat of what I wrote about on Wednesday, but there was nothing else more important and meaningful that I could for anyone today other than to comfort and cuddle my little girl.  Sometimes, a mother’s touch is the magic touch, and it reminded me that my time, attention, and affection are priceless gifts to my children and ones that should be given readily, freely, and often. 

Continuing this theme of how good the human touch can feel, when the girls left to go to see their dad, I went to the local nail salon for a pedicure.  On a bitter cold night, it felt divine to soak my feet in the warm water and later have them massaged with hot stones.  I am not a “girly girl”, as make up and fashion confound me, but I do love to pamper myself with pedicures and massages from time to time.  After being ill and taking care of my daughter and myself this week, it was a nice break to have someone else take care of me for a bit.  I came away with pretty feet and a relaxed demeanor, and it was a wonderfully decadent way to wind down the week. 

Hopefully, the sickness is making its way out of my family with no other return visits planned, and I look forward to putting into action all of the grand plans that I conjured up from the confines of my couch.  Here’s to good health and doing something good for yourself and others!

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Kristi,

    Nice.

    Hope the pedicure made you feel not only relaxed, but also as a “girly, girl”. We all need pampered at sometime in our life.

    Jeb

Leave a Reply

