Managing a Manic Monday

492018328009717877_1GNc1o6r_b

I started the new week and the new day earlier than usual, which meant a 4:00 a.m. wake up call, in order to have enough time to do something for myself and for someone else.  Despite being tired at the moment, it was more than worth it.  That said, I am looking forward to writing this and then heading to bed.  Yawn . . .

I continue to struggle with getting more than 4-5 hours sleep/night, which makes waking up before dawn difficult sometimes, but I learned a long time ago that you have expend energy to get energy.  So, I knew that the best thing I could do for myself to start my busy day off on the right note was to exercise.  It is amazing what even 30 minutes of working out can do for a tired body on a rainy Monday morning.  Afterward, I definitely was wide awake, and I was ready to take on the day and felt good about myself. 

Before and after work, I took care of someone’s cats and home while they are away on a trip.  In addition to following the very detailed pet care and household care instructions, I also made sure to do little things, like sweep up the kitchen, put the dirty dishes in the sink, straighten up the living room, etc., just to make their return home a little nicer.  I also did more than just feed the cats, as I spent time playing with them and letting them snuggle up with me.  Taking care of someone else’s home and beloved pets made an already busy day even busier, but I was glad to be able to help out and do something kind for people who do so much for me.  Plus, truth be told, hanging out with the cats was a nice way to spend some time before and after work, and it made me miss having a pet of my own. 

I really hope that you were able to find something positive to do for yourself and others to begin the new week on a positive note, and if not, there will be another chance tomorrow.  So, get ready to share some more good in the world, and I will join you in this venture after what I hope is a restful night’s sleep.  It was a good day, and it is a good night!

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

