Sunday Brunch

 

827852fae546ddeb39077e356fbc3c13

Waking up wrapped in my flannel sheets to the sound of rain falling on my window sill definitely was a much sweeter and gentler way to awaken than to the sound of an alarm clock.  I absolutely love lazy Sunday mornings, when the only things on my agenda are lingering in bed, perusing the local newspaper, savoring hot green tea, and not having any to follow a particular routine.  This Sunday morning was made all the better with the inclusion of a long overdue brunch with one of my dearest friends in the world and my all-time favorite dining companion, Wood.  It was this brunch that provided me with the opportunity to do something good for myself and for Wood.

This was the first time I have seen Wood since the new year began, and it may very well be the longest that I have gone without seeing him in the course of our ten years of friendship.   I can point to our respective busy professional and personal schedules and my recent bouts of illness as the causes for us not getting together as often as we normally do, but the reasons matter not when you are missing one of your best friends.  So, the best thing I could do for myself was to take time out of my day to spend brunching, chatting, laughing, and listening while in the company of my dear friend.  We always pick up right where we left off, and we cover every topic from the absurd to the serious and pepper these infamous conversations with laughter and excited exclamations and gestures.   Good food always tastes even better when it is shared with even better friends, and I left our Sunday brunch feeling full from both the food and the mutual give and take of our friendship. 

Our Sunday brunch also allowed me the opportunity to treat Wood to this meal and, more importantly, to return the gifts of friendship that he gives to me so willingly and lovingly.  He is one of the most positive people I know, and he rarely is seen without a smile and rarely voices any complaints or negative comments.  He also is not one to ask for help or support, but like everyone, he needs and deserves to receive both, whether he asks or not, so, I make it a practice to reach out to him during good times and challenging times.  As we shared laughs over brunch, I also did my best to be present for him by talking with him about some of the things I know he is dealing with and to actively listen to what he said and didn’t say.  He means that world to me, and I can only hope that I made his world a bit brighter today. 

Just one thing each day . . .

Please, feel free to check out my other blog, “That’s Another Story”, at www.kristijojedlicki.wordpress.com



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

