In Agreement

b25220c36c7686274f07ad29ac759e75

Without question, the best thing that I did for myself today was to carve out slivers of time throughout the day to finish reading don Miguel Ruiz’s book, “The Four Agreements”.  I bought this book on a whim the other night, and as trite as it may sound, unbeknownst to me at the time of purchase, it was a life changing decision.  This book is small and simple, but it made a huge impact on my life in a profound manner.

I was not familiar with the book at all, so, I had no idea what to expect from it.  Almost from the very first word I read, I was inexplicably drawn to the agreements put forth by the author, and I could not put the book down.  When I wasn’t reading it, I was thinking about what I had read and eager to lose myself in its pages again as soon as possible.  It resonated with me, and I immediately realized that this book was a true gift to myself and was grateful beyond measure that I had listened to my intuition and bought it.  I enjoyed reading it more that I ever could have predicted, but more importantly, I know that I will enjoy living by the four agreements even more.  It is not merely a book to read and put up on a bookshelf to be forgotten and to gather dust; it is a book to be read and to be lived, and so, I shall.

The one positive thing that I did for someone else involves my middle sister.  She is brilliant, hard-working, independent, and self-sufficient, and our relationship has undergone many transformations from childhood to adulthood.  She left home to attend college when I was 15 years old, and she has not lived in Kentucky since then.  She now lives within two hours of my home, and we see each other every 6-8 weeks.  We see each other more than we converse with each other on the phone, and our mom often serves as the messenger for my sisters and me, as she relays updates and news about both of my older sisters to me and vice versa .  Today, though, I kept the promise I made to my middle sister in a recent e-mail and called her today, instead of relying on my mom to be the middle man.

Sometimes, because she is more than capable of taking care of herself, I assume she doesn’t need me to touch base with her, unless there is something significant happening.  The squeaky wheel gets the oil, but the rest of the wheels need oil, too, so, my phone call to my sister was my way of giving her the “oil” she needs and deserves.  I wasn’t doing her a favor or pitying her at all, as she does not need either one from me or anyone else, but I was sharing my gift of gab with her and taking a genuine interest in her life.  It was a nice chat, and my younger daughter even joined in the conversation, and I look forward to more phone calls on a more regular basis.  I enjoyed it, and I would like to think that she would agree.

Just one thing each day . . .

For more of my musings, please, visit “That’s Another Story” at www.kristijojedlicki.wordpress.com .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

