Mind Over Matter Really Does Matter

7eee85a19076403f85e3d08582150c5d

When I woke up this morning, I experienced a bit of deja vu, as I still felt a bit “off” just like I did when I woke up yesterday morning.  As I did a quick assessment of my physical symptoms, I determined that I did not have a fever, but I did feel fatigued and a bit achy and had a low-level of energy, which is how I felt when I went to bed the previous night.  I had a full schedule at work to attend to today, and I debated whether I needed to forge ahead or retreat under my covers.  As I weighed my options, a memory from my childhood popped into my mind and was the impetus for the positive things that I did for myself today.

When I was seven years old, I came down with a stomach virus while visiting my extended family in Minnesota during summer vacation.  After being sick for several days, I gingerly ventured out to the mall with my mom, grandmother, sisters, and some of our cousins.  During the middle of our shopping trip, I felt a wave of nausea hit me out of nowhere, and I feared that I would get sick in the middle of the store and said to my mom in a panic, “Mom, I’m going to get sick.”  As my mom hurried me outside for fresh air, she very firmly said to me repeatedly, “We do not get sick in public.  You are not going to throw up.”  It may sound rather harsh, but it helped me to focus on her words, instead of giving in the panic and nausea.  We made our way outside, and sure enough, I calmed down, breathed in the fresh air, the nausea subsided, and I did not vomit.

So, this morning, I had to make the decision whether to focus on feeling sick or to focus on feeling well.  I decided to proceed with my outline for the day-exercise, get ready for work, wake up my daughters and eat breakfast with them, drop them off at school, go to work, pick my daughters up, and come home for dinner, homework, and household tasks.  Given how I felt this morning, getting through the day seemed like a daunting task indeed, so, I gave myself permission to return home to my bed and pajamas, if needed.  I tentatively began my morning workout, and before I knew it, I had completed it and felt good, all things considered.  I also made a conscious effort to use positive self-talk to focus on what felt good and what was going well, instead of what did not feel good and what was not going well, and I took some time to read from don Miguel Ruiz’s book, “The Fifth Agreement”, to give myself a mental, emotional, and spiritual boost.  Then, I was off to tackle the rest of the day, and almost as soon as I arrived at work and immersed myself in my work plan, I forgot all about feeling “off” and was “on”.  I continued to focus on the positives throughout the day, and as the day comes to an end, I feel much better on every level than I did when the day began and am hopeful that tomorrow I will feel even better.  I am very glad that I did not give up immediately this morning, because this proved to be a great opportunity to use my mind in a positive way when it mattered most.

Today also gave my daughters and I another opportunity to do something that matters for other people.  In addition to the “Penny War” to benefit Operation Rice Bowl at my daughters’ grade school, the school also is sponsoring a  food drive to collect canned goods for the Society of St. Vincent de Paul.  Together, we gathered up a number of food items to donate to this cause, and as we did this, we talked about some of the reasons people may be in need of food in our community.  My daughters are fortunate to have food, clothing, and shelter, and it is difficult for them to grasp that these basic necessities are luxuries for some people.  I want to teach them to appreciate all that they have and, in turn, to lend a hand up to those in need whenever they have the opportunity to do so.

My daughters were excited to donate some of their favorite food, such as soup, so, that another person can enjoy a delicious and nutritious meal, and I was pleased that they wanted to share their personal favorites, instead of looking at this as a chance to get rid of food that they do not like.  It is one thing to give and to share, and it is another thing altogether to give from your heart and to give happily and willingly.  I am proud of both of my daughters for many reasons, but the fact that they are compassionate, generous, and caring matter the most to me, and I know that our donations of food will matter a great deal to those in need.

Just one thing each day . . .

For more of my musings, please, visit “That’s Another Story” at www.kristijojedlicki.wordpress.com .

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

