Day Off to Goof Off

0d96973ebdbf4b99fc3d0bc669dd51f9

Nothing quite like starting off the week with a day off of work for me and school for my two daughters.  The girls were off to school thanks to not needing this day to make up any snow days this year, and I took off of work to stay home with them.  After unexpectedly having to take off of work last Thursday and Friday to care of my older daughter who had strep throat, I considered returning to work today and asking my mom to watch my daughters, but I followed my heart and stuck to my decision to take off today.  As this wonderful day winds down, I am so glad that I did, as this was the best thing I could do for both myself and my daughters today.

It was a cold and dreary day with sleet and snow showers more fitting for January than the last week of March, so, the girls and I enjoyed a relaxing morning snuggled up together at home.  We weighed our options for what we wanted to do together today, and we had just as much fun planning our afternoon as we did actually executing our plans.  There’s something so liberating about having absolute control over how to spend your time, and to be able to spend this time with my incredible little girls is pure bliss.  I don’t take it for granted, and this time with them means as much to me as it does to them.

One of my goals is to explore more of Louisville’s local businesses and attractions with the girls, so, I was thrilled when all three of us named two local establishments to visit today that just happened to be adjacent to one another.  We began our afternoon with treats served up by Please & Thank You, and chatting and laughing with the girls warmed my heart more than my favorite ginger tea did.  It is such a cozy spot, and I enjoyed sharing it with the girls again.  After we finished our treats, we headed over to Why Louisville, which is a unique store filled with all sorts of Louisville and Kentucky themed items from cool t-shirts to interesting books to funny trinkets.  In addition to great shopping, they also have a gigantic wheel that kids can spin to win a prize, an old-fashioned mechanical horse that kids can ride, and free popcorn.  Despite being able to download books, nothing beats a trip to the bookstore and the feel of a book in your hands, so, we headed to Barnes & Noble to purchase reading material for all three of us.  It has been awhile since I have been to a bookstore, and this trip left me practically giddy.  It means a lot to me that my daughters share my love of reading, and it is one more thing that we can share with one another.  It was only fitting that we ended our day at our dear friends’ eatery, Kayrouz Café, enjoying delicious food, good conversation, and lots of laughter.  As the day comes to a close, I hope that we can have more play dates together soon.  Awesome day!

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

