Good Enough is Good Enough

 

6829eedefc78758768f32a0366f3930a

For the past several hours, I have been agonizing over this blog post.  For the first time ever, I have writer’s block, and the thoughts swirling around in my mind cannot find their way onto to the blank computer screen.  I was ready to throw in the towel, when an idea popped into my mind.

I can attribute part of the writer’s block to the fact that I have a lot of things on my mind that are distracting me this evening.  These distractions are preventing me from writing in my usual style, and I feel like I am thinking in bullet point statements, instead of paragraphs.  So, it dawned on me that for today, the best I can do may not be my usual “best”, but it still is good enough.  The whole point of this particular blog is to do at least one thing each day to help myself and at least one other person, and my actions are far more meaningful and important than my words.  So, here’s a new twist on some of the things I did for myself and others today:

Today, I did the following for myself:

  • I started my day with a great workout, and since recommitting myself to a regular exercise routine 6 weeks ago, I now look forward to it.  Instead of coming up with excuses why I can skip a day, I am back to making exercise a priority.  On every level, it feels really good!
  • I also took time to read the daily reflection from Joel Osteen’s “I Declare” and a chapter from Danielle LaPorte’s book, “The Fire Starter Sessions”.  Both began my day with some much-needed inspiration and motivation.
  • At each meal and snack, I made healthy food and drink choices, and I tracked these choices on the MyFitnessPal app, which helps to keep me focused on making good decisions that will support my health and wellness goals.

This is what I did for others:

  • I picked up my two daughters after work, which allowed their dad a chance to get caught up on some things he needed to do for his job.
  • After being off of work since last Wednesday, I was very busy getting up to speed on everything, but I made sure to take time to talk and listen to the men at the day shelter for homeless men where I work when they wanted to chat.  I also helped one man heat up his breakfast and found a donated shirt for another man, and as always, I shared plenty of smiles and laughs with them.

Okay, there you have it, and I hope to be back on track with my writing tomorrow.  Even though this is not my best effort, I am proud of myself for putting in the effort at all on a night when the words escaped me.

Just one thing each day .  . .

 

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

2 replies

  1. I think this is great what you are doing. Something for yourself and something for others. Too often we forget about ourselves, and then in the end we tire out and then cannot do what we ought for others. So keeping a balance between the two, and keeping track on a daily basis is a fantastic idea. Keep up the great work, it is inspirational!

    • Thank you so much, Elizabeth, as I always appreciate and enjoy your comments. When I’m in the throes of the depression and anxiety, it can be so tough for me to help myself, much less anyone else, but I have found that by doing even the smallest kind deed can help. Some days, it’s a challenge, but it’s always worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

