Balancing Act

47efe3e7a1deb316980579e98d2b93f8

This morning I woke up, not to the sound of my alarm clock or my younger daughter crawling into bed with me, instead, I woke up to the sweet sound of silence.  Just like being alone does mean one is lonely, silence does not mean everything is quiet.  Silence has such a strong presence about it, that it can wake me from my slumber or get my undivided attention during the day.  I can feel it, and I can hear it.  Sometimes, the silence is suffocating and deafening, and other times, it is light and inviting.  Today, it, thankfully, was the latter.

One of the best things that I did for myself today was to begin my day in silence, which gave me the opportunity to gather my thoughts and plan my day.  Lately, I have been re-evaluating my goals and assessing what is going well and what can be improved upon, and one thing has become crystal clear to me.  I need to continue to focus on maintaining balance among my body, mind, baby soul, and spirit, and what better time to start than the present.  With this focus fresh in my mind, I went forth with the goal of doing just one positive thing to nurture each of these four areas.

Physically, I still was feeling some of the effects of my recent illness, so, I took the day off from exercising and focused on drinking at least 64 ounces of water, choosing nutritious foods, and taking the appropriate vitamins and supplements.  I also treated my skin to dry brushing prior to taking a hot shower, and I used Aveda’s “Stress Fix” lotion to moisturize and soothe my skin.  This combination of choices made me feel good inside and out.

Mentally, I took time to read in silence, as not to be distracted, so, I could truly absorb and appreciate the written words before me.  I read the April chapter from “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin, in order to think about what I could do to make the upcoming month a good one, and I read the Day 30 chapter from “I Declare” by Joel Osteen, in order to begin my day with a positive perspective.  I also read our local newspaper to catch up on events around the world and close to home.  It was such a treat to have this quiet time to lose myself in the simple joy of reading for a little while.

As for my baby soul, I did something which I love to do, for it brings me such a sense of peace, yet I do not do it often enough.  After finishing the spring cleaning, I smudged our home with sage.  This Native American tradition is such a meaningful practice of cleansing and healing, and as I smudged each room, I said prayers that floated upward with the sage scented smoke.  What remained was the wonderful aroma of sage and a home and baby soul that felt re-energized, positive, content, and happy.  Awake my soul indeed.

My spirit is closely tied to my baby soul, but for the sake of this blog post, I shall separate the two.  Spiritually, I focused on all that I had to be grateful for in my life, and I am not talking about the obvious things, such as my daughters, my home, my family and friends, and the many other blessings.  Although I truly am grateful for those people and things, I took notice of the many things that go unrecognized and unappreciated in my life, such as my safe neighborhood, my contacts and eye glasses, my washing machine & dryer, clean water, the rabbits, squirrels, birds, & deer that wander through our backyard, our reliable mail carrier, electricity, and thousands of other people, places, and things that warrant praise and gratitude.  Beginning in April, I am going to read Rhonda Byrne’s book, “The Magic”, which outlines a 28-day plan to incorporate more gratitude in one’s life.  So, today, I got a jump-start on noticing how good life really is, even if sometimes, it may not appear so at first glance.

The reason my day began in silence is because my daughters are away on a trip with their dad for spring break.  I miss them, but I am thrilled that they are with their dad and their friends having fun in the sun for the next week.  I wanted them both to know that I was thinking of them, so, first thing this morning, I sent them a cheerful note, along with a picture of the foggy morning.  I plan on sending them daily greetings, and based on the positive reaction I received from my older daughter this morning, I would say that I managed to boost their spirits.

I also took the liberty of cleaning their rooms in their absence, so, they would not return home to that chore to do.  Both of my daughters are very helpful around the house, and I wanted to do this for them, as a way to thank them for all of their hard work.  They do not know that I did this for them today, but they will find out soon enough.  It will be worth the wait.

Just one thing each day . . .

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

