Rising to the Occasion

fb230c8b4c878b02d49c8f6fd4b2d5a2

Well, Jesus may have managed to be raised from the dead in three days, but since becoming ill on what was less than a good Friday, I have yet to rise above this latest malady.  You know I am sick when I have yet to break my Lenten resolution of forsaking sweets, as I normally would be in a sugar coma by now surrounded by candy wrappers and covered in crumbs.  Instead, I traded in the Easter candy for cold medicine and time with my family for a day of solitary confinement.  With any luck, my own resurrection will occur tomorrow.

Today, my spirit was willing, but my body was not, so, I did the best I could to do just one thing for myself and others under the circumstances.  Even though I was not able to join my parents, sisters, and brother-in-law for Easter brunch at my brother-in-law and sister’s home, and my girls were out-of-town for spring break with their dad, I made sure to contact them to wish them a very happy Easter and to say, “I love you”.  I sent an early morning e-mail to both of my daughters, conveying the aforementioned messages, and I talked with them and their dad on the phone later to repeat these messages.  It was so good to hear about their Easter, and I felt a part of it, even though I am hundreds of miles away.  I also talked with my sister and brother-in-law to apologize that my illness would prevent me from joining them today and to catch up, and my oldest sister and I exchanged playful messages about the Easter bunny shaped cake I was missing out on at brunch.  I also saw my parents when they made a brief surprise visit to deliver my Easter card.  What may not seem like much really is, as telling people that you are thinking of them and that you love them is truly special, whether it be on a holiday or an ordinary day.  I was glad that I had the opportunity to send my well wishes and love to some of the people who mean the most to me, and I hope it made their Easter day even happier.

The best thing that I did for myself today is that I indulged in radical self-care to combat this illness.  I rested, stayed hydrated, took the appropriate medication, and ate healthy foods, and later this evening, I will submerge myself in the healing waters of a hot bath, before donning warm pajamas and tucking myself into bed early.  I hope that making good choices today will result in good health tomorrow or very soon after.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Happy belated Easter, Kristi!

    I hope you are feeling better today. There is nothing worse than being ill during an otherwise joyous time. Take good care of yourself, and you will be back in fighting shape in no time!

    Have a great week!

    Shawn

    • Hi, and a belated Happy Easter to you, too, Shawn! Thanks for your well wishes and kind words. I am feeling better and was able to return to work, and I hope to continue on this path to good health. Hope all is well in your world!

Leave a Reply

