Thank You & You’re Welcome

1c4532e38ee61787265e033b05dd0574

I am on day two of a 28-day plan outlined in Rhonda Byrne’s book, “The Magic”, to add more gratitude to my daily life.  One of the practices is to write down ten things you are grateful for and to also identify the reasons why you are grateful for each of the ten things listed.  This practice is how I began my day, as shortly after I opened my eyes, I opened up my journal and began writing.  While I like to think of myself as a grateful and polite person, I also know that I sometimes am so focused on what I perceive to be missing in my life that I do not appreciate what I already have.

My daughters and I normally share what we’ve written in our respective gratitude journals at the end of the day, and I did not give much thought at all to beginning, rather than ending, my day counting my blessings, other than to make sure I have enough time in the morning to do it.  I found that starting my day comprising my gratitude list helps me to focus on finding even more to be grateful for throughout the rest of my day.  Here are a few things from today that merited thanks:

  • Hearing Rush’s “Subdivisions” as I drove to work to end my short commute on a high note.
  • Being greeted with smiles and “Good morning, Miss Kristi” by “my guys” at the day shelter for homeless men where I work.
  • Sharing laughs and lunch with some of my favorite colleagues.
  • A phone call from my daughters and their dad, who are away on spring break to catch up with me and to let me know that they miss me.
  • Popcorn

To identify some of the people, places, and things in my life that I am thankful for is the best thing I can do for myself today and every day.  Thank you!

What I did for someone else today found me on the receiving end of a ‘thank you’ that melted my heart.  With my daughters out-of-town this week, I have worked late the last two days, so, by the time I leave, there are very few cars or pedestrians on the block that the day shelter is located on downtown.  As I made my way to my car, I saw one of the men who is a guest at the day shelter and greeted him.  When I asked how his day had been, he shrugged and said, “Not so good, but you’re off the clock and on your way home, and I don’t want to bother you.”  I assured him that I had time to listen, if he had time to talk.  He hesitated at first, before quickly filling me in on some of the events of his day which had caused him frustration.  I listened and made a couple of suggestions how to resolve a particular problem, and with that, he said, “Thanks; I just needed someone to listen to me, and I am glad that it was you.”  I was glad it was me, too.  You’re more than welcome!

Just one thing each day . . .

 

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

