Love Thy Neighbor As Thyself

9bff461645ef917e67e97eb11b9bc5d7

Depending on the day, sometimes, it is easier to love my neighbors than it is to love myself, but today was one of those days when I was able to do both.  Before I went to bed last night, I identified four things that I wanted and needed to accomplish today:

  1. Complete today’s gratitude exercise from “The Magic” by Rhonda Byrne.
  2. Do a circuit workout for my daily exercise routine.
  3. Finish two projects at work.
  4. Do at least one thing on my “To Do” list.

I made a promise to myself to do all four of these things, and I drifted off to sleep.  It didn’t take long upon waking up this morning for my promise to myself to be challenged by none other than the person who made the promise-me!

While I would not consider breaking a promise I have made to someone else, it can be far too easy to break a promise I have made to myself.  In the past, I have rationalized that going back on a self-made promise is not a big deal, but that belief was challenged after I read don Miguel Ruiz’s book, “The Four Agreements”.  The first agreement is “be impeccable with your word”, which challenged me to be true to my word to both myself and others.  Unless there’s a truly legitimate reason preventing me from honoring my promise, I must honor it.

So, when I did not feel like doing the gratitude exercise first thing this morning, I simply got out my pen and journal, and I completed it.  When I considered taking a day off from working out, I got up, put on my workout clothes, and completed a great circuit routine.  When I felt like putting off at least one of the work projects until tomorrow, I stayed late and finished both.  When I felt like not running an errand on the way home, I stopped the car at the store anyway.  I did everything I set out to do, even though I could have broken any or all of the promises that I made to myself at any time, and guess what?  I feel great about the outcomes and am proud of myself for fulfilling these promises today,  as my word to myself matters just as much as it does to someone else.

When I arrived home from work late this afternoon, I was able to perform a small act of kindness for my next door neighbors.  I was welcomed home by the sight of empty garbage cans and recycling bins at the end of the driveways on our street, just as I am every Wednesday, but I decided to do something different on this Wednesday.  I noticed that my neighbors’ recycling bin was still out, so, I put it away for them.  I know that this was not a grand gesture and does not begin to repay them for being such wonderful neighbors, but it was a small surprise that I hope brightened their own return from work.

Just one thing each day . .  .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

