Something to Smile About

a6f367bb2f4cdaf4fcfb4c3435ca9bbe

One of my favorite things to do to brighten someone’s day is to give them some sort of pleasant surprise.  To me, there is nothing like the look of joy and excitement on someone’s face when they are surprised, and I have seen this look numerous times when I have performed random acts of kindness.  Today, though, I was the one with this surprised look on my face when I apparently did something for someone else that made his day better, and I was not even aware of it.

This afternoon, I was folding the towels and wash cloths in the day shelter’s laundry room when one of the men who is homeless appeared in the doorway.  When I looked up and saw him, I smiled and greeted him, and his response made me smile even more through tears in my eyes.  He returned my greeting and then said, “I just want to tell you that you have a beautiful smile, and it means a lot, because sometimes, it’s the only smile some of us see.  You really do smile all the time, and I just want to say ‘thank you’.”  I often hear comments about my smile, but the compliments that mean the most to me are the ones made by those who seemingly have the least to smile about.  It never ceases to amaze me how the simple acts of genuinely smiling and making eye contact with someone can make them feel better and give them a reason to smile.  I tell “my guys” all the time that they are the reason I always smile at work, because I can’t help but to be happy when I am in the presence of greatness.  When I thanked this gentleman today, he said, “No, Miss Kristi, thanks to you, and keep on smiling”, and so,  I shall.

I did something for myself today that made me smile, as well.  I spent time with my friend, mentor, and Wellbriety coach, Trude, who always is so generous with the wisdom, support, and friendship she shares with me.  It is time very well spent, and I always leave her presence feeling all the better for having shared my journey with her and having learned from hers.  Even when she has to administer a dose of tough love like she did today, it makes me smile, because I know she truly cares about me and is being honest.  I prefer the harsh truth to a pretty lie any day, and I trust Trude to always offer me the former, like she did this afternoon.  It was a good day that certainly gave me much to smile about and allowed me to share just as many smiles with others.

Just one thing each day . . .

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Thank you for your kindness and the wonderful gifts you give. So very grateful for you dear Krisiti!!

Leave a Reply

