Welcome Home

5727698874f26718276d774d7c544904

This Saturday found me being welcomed home and welcoming the two people I love most in the world home.  Both of these things reminded me that there really is no place like home.

As I chronicled in an earlier blog post today, I returned “home” to the trails in Cherokee Park, where I ran for the first time since last December.  There absolutely was nothing better I could for myself today than to take full advantage of the blue skies, sunshine, light breeze, and warm weather to spend time running along the trails and taking in all of the sights, sounds, and scents offered up by the fauna & flora and inhabitants of the woods.  This six-mile trail run pushed my body to its limits and left it sore in a good way, cleared my mind of the mental clutter and left it at peace, released any lingering negative emotions and left me feeling happy and content, and connected me with God in ways I cannot fully explain and left me spiritually nourished.  It was simply sublime, and I am so very grateful that I took the time to do this for myself.  I have missed trail running immensely, and I definitely will hit the trails again very soon.

The afternoon ended with me welcoming my two daughters home from spring break with their dad.  I missed them dearly, but I was to happy and thankful that they had the opportunity to have some fun in the sun with their dad and their friends.  Because of our custody arrangement, the girls are supposed to be with their dad this weekend, but because their dad and I strive to do what is in their best interest and ours, as well, the girls are tucked in their beds sleeping soundly here in my home.

I knew that their dad would be exhausted after driving nearly 12 hours home, and I also know what it’s like to return home from vacation with no food in the refrigerator, phone messages, mail, and e-mails to wade through, clothes to unpack and wash, and all of the other things that make the return to reality a harsh one.  So, I offered to have the girls spend the night with me to give their dad time to unpack and unwind and to allow me the time to indulge in the girls’ tales from the beach and overindulge in their hugs, kisses, and cuddles.  Their dad graciously took me up on my offer, and it was a welcome home indeed.

Just one thing each day . . .

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

2 replies

  1. I cannot imagine how it must be to be separated from periods of time from your children. I know that you are on friendly terms and have a fabulous understanding, however it must still be very hard. I applaud your management of this aspect of your separation, I find that you are someone with very high values and morals, and putting your children first at all times. You are to be congratulated for the tremendous job you are doing.

    • Elizabeth, thank you so much for your most kind words! I do miss my daughters a lot when we are a part, but thankfully, it is the exception, not the rule, that I go more than a day or two without seeing them. Their dad lives about two miles from me, and even though we alternate weeks, I still pick them up from school and spend a few hours w/them before he gets home from work, and I see them at their sporting events on the weekends. I am beyond grateful that we have made the best of our divorce for our entire family’s sake, and I hope it helps our girls. Onward we go . . .

Leave a Reply

