Hope>Tragedy

aef120c370a8766f86d0bc8b95a4caa8

As I sit down to write today’s blog post, I find my heart heavy and my thoughts scattered, as I recall today’s tragedy at the Boston marathon and a family matter that has resulted in heartache.  The world just seems to be so unsafe at the moment, and today’s events both in Boston and closer to home have reminded me how very precious and fragile life truly is.  It also reminded me how much more love and kindness the world needs, especially as it collectively grieves and heals yet again.

In light of these events, writing about my efforts to do just one thing each for myself and others is proving to be difficult.  Does it matter what I do?  Can daily acts of self-care and random, and not-so-random, acts of kindness really change the world?  I really do hope so, and I hope that everyone is inspired to do something to make our world safer, more loving, kinder, happier, healthier, etc. today and every day.

The thing I did for others is a direct result of the explosions in Boston this afternoon.  As soon as I received a text from a friend telling me what happened, I immediately reached out to my friends who live in the Boston area and those who were there for the marathon to make sure that they were safe and sound.  I was overcome with emotion and took this opportunity to share some of my feelings with them, as I realized that if they had been lost in today’s tragedy that I would regret some of the words that I have left unsaid.  I am so grateful that I had this chance to say what I needed and wanted to say, and I hope that the recipients of these heartfelt words were, too.

What I did for myself today was to take time to write in my gratitude journal.  At first, the sadness of the day clouded any feelings and thoughts of gratitude, but as I sat quietly with just my journal for company, some of the many. many people, places, and things for which I am grateful began to flood my mind and heart.  My life isn’t perfect, but it is good indeed.

Just one thing each day . .  .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Much love to you, KJ, and I hope family matters get better. I found myself grateful to have my family safe with me as I learned of the horrible events of the day from Boston. I am always reminded in tragedies like this when my faith in humanity is shaken, that as horrible as people can be to each other, in the midst of it they can also be brave and unselfish and kind to their fellow man. I was so happy to hear of Bostonians taking in runners who couldn’t get back to their hotels, giving them a shower, food, and a bed to sleep in. Human kindness that I never tire of seeing. ..

    • Shannon, I am sending you all lots of love, too, and I so appreciate your support and your perspective, as both help ease the sorrow and give me hope. Goodness and kindness shall overcome the evil and darkness. . .

  2. Thank you for sending light in the darkness of this day; with the knowledge that even in the darkest of days, we can always choose our own valued response.
    And we can always feel gratitude for what we have.

  3. Kristi Jo, thank you for sharing your reflections, which I always find inspiring. I currently manage the social media accounts for EHC LifeBuilders in Silicon Valley and found you through their Google+ account.

    • Claire, thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog and to send such kind feedback to me, as I am grateful for both. I gather that you also are fortunate enough to work with people who are homeless, so, your comments definitely are near and dear to my heart, as is your work. Many, many thanks!

Leave a Reply

