Wide Awake

10728b39fba1b403c27437b1be83cc9b

Thanks to a combination of physical exhaustion, mental fatigue, and allergy medicine, I went to bed early last night, instead of staying up late to write yesterday’s blog post.  While I missed writing, I missed sleeping even more, and in the end, it was the second best thing that I did for myself yesterday.

The absolute best thing that I did for myself was to look for every possible good thing that the day had to offer, as I awoke feeling sad and stressed about Monday’s events in Boston and in our family.  I didn’t like feeling out of sorts and was in desperate need to awaken more positive feelings and have a more positive outlook, so, instead of focusing on all that is wrong with the world, I went in search of all that is right in the world at large and in my own world.  As soon as I shifted my focus, my mood shifted from bad to better to good.  Here is a short list of some of the things that made me smile big time:

  • The beautiful, scenic drive from Louisville to Lexington
  • The compliments my colleague and I received about our presentation at a conference
  • Pecan pie for an afternoon snack
  • Being greeted with big hugs, kisses, and smiles by both of my girls when I arrived home
  • Great conversations and lots of laughs with colleagues who all are passionate about working with people who are homeless
  • Knowing that my blog is being read by others who hopefully are encouraged, entertained, and/or educated by it
  • Having dreams and believing that they will all come to fruition

Before turning in for the night, I set aside my work and honored my daughters’ requests to have “snuggle time”.  It has been a long and emotional week on a national and personal level, due to the recent tragedy in Boston and a tragedy in our family, and the girls and I needed this quiet time to just be together.  Spending time cuddled up together always is special, as we alternate chatting and giggling with enjoying the silence and snuggles, and it leaves me feeling closer and connected to them.  Although it was definitely a relaxing way to wind down, it also reawakened my desire to be the best mom to them in every way possible and to enjoy the simple pleasures that life offers on a daily basis.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. I am inspired by your continuing positiveness in your journey forward. I have watched your progress since following your blog, and you have shown strength, courage and valued responses; and this attitude is growing day by day. I am encouraged by your perseverance in applying this to my own quest for enlightenment and a happy contended future with purpose. Thank you for this delightful post.

    • Elizabeth, I cannot thank you enough for being a loyal reader and kind supporter, and knowing that you have seen progress through my writings is so meaningful to me. Sometimes, I lose sight of how I have come when I look at how much further I want to go in my life, and sometimes, it is too painful to revisit past blogs. So, it is reassuring to know that others see what I sometimes miss altogether. I definitely am a work in progress. I’d like to think we are learning from one another and traveling together, even if on separate continents. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

Leave a Reply

