The Ties That Bind

5d0521f78d0681a8ebeaf3c901d141f6

Without question, there was one thing I did today that made all of the difference in the world.  I spent a gorgeous spring afternoon in the company of my even more gorgeous friend, mentor, and Wellbriety coach, Trude.  Making the choice to be in her presence always is beneficial, as she has a way of helping me to regain a healthier and more positive perspective about a variety of things, especially when it comes to matters of the heart and getting to the heart of the matter.  When I sent Trude a message this morning bemoaning the fact that I had allowed myself to become anxious and insecure about something, she asked me if I would like to meet at her favorite spot in the park to talk.  Responding “yes” proved to be the best choice that I made for myself for today, and what transpired will stay with me forever.

Trude and I made our way to the park, and I was honored that she shared her favorite spot with me.  We set up chairs nestled beneath huge trees that guarded the banks of a fast-moving creek, and we engaged in another meaningful conversation with the sound of the water providing the perfect background music.  Trude listened as I spoke from my heart about what triggered some anxiety, and she shared wise advice, tears, laughter, and stories with me.  As we chatted, we intermittently tossed bright yellow biodegradable prayer ties with healing sage inside of each one into the rushing water to carry our prayers, intentions, hopes, dreams, and love out into the universe.  As I watched each one carried away by the water, I felt the anxiety, self-doubt, and fear float away with them.  What an amazing gift Trude gave to me, and accepting her gracious gift was a gift to myself that I will treasure always.

I also gave a gift of sorts to two co-workers today.  One was more of a peace-offering, and one was for no reason at all.  Yesterday, the plant manager and I took on the task of cleaning out the staff refrigerator, and we accidentally threw out one of our colleague’s lunches in the midst of our cleaning frenzy.  We felt badly for our actions, and our co-worker felt hungry.  So, today, I treated her to lunch from one of my favorite local joints, as a sort of edible olive branch, which she gratefully accepted.  While I was buying lunch for our co-worker, I also bought lunch for our beloved plant manager, for no other reason than he puts up with our self-appointed assistant plant manager, who happens to be yours truly.  I am fortunate enough to work some of the best people ever, so, any time I can do something positive for them, I take full advantage of the opportunity to do so.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , ,

8 replies

  1. I haven’t heard of prayer ties, what a wonderful moment to share with someone. Thank you for sharing your day, very inspiring! 🙂

    • You are more thank welcome, and I am so glad that you were able to share in my day by reading this post. Time spent with Trude is time well spent indeed, and the prayer ties were so healing. You are an inspiration, so, let your light continue to shine!

  2. On another note, I nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award. (I am just getting to notifying people, sorry it took so long!) Well deserved! You have been so welcoming and inspiring, thank you! I am so grateful to have found you 🙂

Leave a Reply

