Let it Be

895d428e389ac16fcad41e402f98e3b3

As I sat down to write about what I did for myself and for others today, at first, I drew an absolute blank.  The more I thought about it, the more frustrated I became.  Surely, I had done something, anything, at least just one thing today, hadn’t I?!  Along with the frustration came the regret that I had not been more mindful of my actions today, and I vowed to do a better job in being more intentional in my quest to help myself and others from here on out, but that still didn’t address what I did today.  Then, I stumbled upon the quote I included in this post, and it hit me, that I did those three things for myself and others in a variety of forms to kick off the week.  So, here’s a glimpse into my Monday:

Be silly . . .

  • I took time to joke around with some of the guests at the day shelter for homeless men, as their laughter and smiles are among my favorite sights and sounds, for I know that they are experiencing a bit of joy, even if just for a moment.
  • I treated my daughters to an afternoon snack at their favorite local frozen yogurt shop, and we were able to unwind from our respective days with a cold treat, warm smiles, lots of laughter, and funny stories.
  • My colleagues and I shared our own inside jokes and stories to de-stress throughout the work day, and I left work, as I usually do, with a smile and looking forward to returning in the morning.
  • I began and ended my day sharing humorous texts and emails with a special friend who makes me laugh more than anyone else, other than my girls.

Be honest . . .

  • I was honest with a friend about my willingness and limitations regarding a situation that they were trying to draw me into and my abilities to help in this particular situation, instead of ignoring my intuition and engaging in something that was not healthy for me.
  • I was honest with myself about some of the underlying reasons why I have not pursued certain goals of mine, and I have become to address the self-sabotaging thoughts and behaviors that have prevented me from progressing.
  • I shared how I felt with someone.

Be kind . . .

  • Despite not fulfilling all of my intentions today, I did the best I could, and I stopped focusing on what I didn’t do and focused on what I was able to do.
  • I took time to share a smile and a kind word with the guests at the day shelter in the midst of a hectic day.
  • When I had to say “no” to someone, I did so gently and respectfully.
  • I showered my daughters with hugs, kisses, laughter, and love.

Just one thing each day . . .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. What a lovely post! Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

