Help is on the Way

6d5ea0c0a37ff94e21f7f1f4f483f3fd

Sometime, shortly after my feet hit the floor this morning, I hit the proverbial brick wall.  There’s something about having a cold during warm weather that makes it seem even worse, and a lack of decent sleep for the past week certainly wasn’t helping matters.  While my body was moving slowly, my mind was on overdrive, as I started thinking of everything that awaited me when I left the cocoon of my bedroom to face the rest of the world-laundry, ironing, helping with my older daughter’s school project, cutting the grass, weeding the yard, grocery shopping, and all of the tasks, projects, and reports waiting for me at work.  So, what’s an exhausted, ill, stressed, and overwhelmed super-mom-wanna-be to do?  Ask for help.

Far and away, the best thing that I did for myself today was to ask for help from someone who has a standing offer to help me whenever needed, but whose help I try not to seek out, unless absolutely necessary.  This hesitation to ask for this person’s help has nothing to do with him and everything to do with my own sense of pride and high expectations for myself.  My pride was forced to take a backseat to the realization that I could not get everything accomplished in the time frame it needed to be finished, unless I called in reinforcement.  So, I called, or rather sent a text, to my ex-husband to ask him if he could cut the grass and weed the yard before the rain moved in tomorrow, as my yard was beginning to look more tropical than suburban.  Without hesitation, he answered the call for help, and at the end of the day, the yard work was finished, our daughters got to see their parents continue to support and help one another, and my stress level had been reduced.  It was the right call to make indeed.

To thank my ex-husband for his help around my home and our Plant Manager for his help at work, I surprised both of them with dinner and lunch, respectively.  After spending time after work helping me, I made dinner, or rather bought dinner from the Fresh Market, for my ex-husband to enjoy.  For those of you who think a home cooked meal would have been more appropriate, you obviously have never tasted my cooking, or you would know that buying him a pre-made meal was the kindest gesture possible.

When my boss mentioned that she was walking down to a favorite local eatery to pick up lunch, I decided to join her for the short walk on a gorgeous spring day to take the opportunity to treat our beloved Plant Manager to one of his favorite lunches, chili.  He was out of the building running errands, so, I enjoyed having his lunch ready and waiting for him when he returned, and he was pleasantly surprised and very appreciative.  It was the least I could do for someone who does so much for so many people.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

6 replies

  1. I hope you are feeling better, what a blessing to be able to maintain a good relationship with your ex 🙂

    • Thanks so much! My cold is still hanging on, but I hope to recover fully soon. I am extraordinarily fortunate to have such a healthy, positive relationship with my ex-husband. It makes the pain of divorce easier to bear, and it is what is best for our daughters and for both of us. We may not have been able to make our marriage work, but we have made our divorce work indeed.

Leave a Reply

