Change of Plans

2d49e5d310c99db71f97c2708511f25d

Three months from today is my birthday, and I planned to kick off a renewed quest to get in better shape physically, spiritually, emotionally, and mentally first thing this morning with a great workout, followed by a balanced and productive day at home and at work.  Unfortunately, my lingering cold morphed into a raging sinus infection that derailed these plans.  So, I had to shift gears from doing to planning, as I rested and continued to plan how to make sure that I have much more to celebrate and be proud of in ninety days.  Hopefully, my antibiotic and decongestants will join forces to usher out this sinus infection, so, I can get on with the business at hand.  In the meantime, I will continue to do what is best for me to recuperate and recover-getting plenty of rest, fluids, and medication.  Stay tuned for the comeback!

The one thing I was able to do for someone else today was to take time off of work to be present for my older daughter’s school presentation this morning.  Although she is quickly heading into her teenage years and becoming more independent of me, she still needs me and wants me there for both the little and big moments in her life, including this morning’s presentation.  There is also much work to be done, but it was still waiting for me when I arrived at work after the school event.  These precious moments with my daughter will not always be there, though, and I am so glad that I made the time and effort to be there to watch her, beam with pride, and congratulate her on a job well done.  It meant a lot to her, and it meant even more to me.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. I hope you are feeling much better! And so lovely to be there for your daughter’s presentation! When the “little ones” start to need us moms less, finding little ways to stay connected and involved makes all the difference 🙂
    And, I am excited to hear more about the “renewed guest”!

    • Thanks! My renewed quest to be optimally healthy is alive and well, even though I am not feeling completely well yet. This, too, shall pass, and when it does, I will be raring to go!

      Time seems to be moving at warp speed with my daughters, so, since I have yet to find a way to slow it down, I am being more mindful of the time I have with them.

  2. Those years with the children seem to go so fast. The times are precious and it is fantastic that you are savouring each moment as it comes (despite not feeling well).

    • I cannot believe how quickly the years seem to fly by ever since my oldest daughter was born. Now, that I am working full-time, I miss being home with them all the time during the summer, but I know that this is the new reality of being divorced. I will keep working at a job that I truly love, while at the same time following my dream of writing professionally. This is precious time indeed.

Leave a Reply

