Intending to Be Kind

be7ed24dd5a2a66d9961d7fd71460aaa

After feeling a bit out of sorts for no particular reason yesterday, I awoke determined to go through the day in a better frame of mind.  One of the changes I made was to be more mindful of my thoughts, words, and actions throughout my day, instead of absent-mindedly going through my routine and interacting with others on autopilot.  Recently, I began re-reading Dr. Wayne Dyer’s book, “The Power of Intention”, and as I read it this morning, it gave me an idea for how to be more mindful of doing just one thing for myself and others today.

In this particular book, Dr. Dyer discusses “the seven faces for connecting to intention”, so, I decided to see if I could put theses “seven faces” into action by choosing one thing to do for myself or others from each category.  Here are the results:

  • Be creative.
    *One of the examples given in the book was meditation.  Despite being a self-proclaimed “meditation flunky”, I decided to try it for a few minutes to prepare myself for the busy day ahead.  It actually felt very calming and peaceful to sit in silence, even for a limited time.  Perhaps, there is hope for me yet in the area of meditation.
  • Be kind.
    *The kindest thing I did for myself today was to do a challenging work out before heading to work.  I intended to do an hour-long interval workout, combining cardiovascular exercise and strength training, but since I still am not feeling 100% well, I began to doubt my physical abilities and almost quit before, and even after, I began.  I gave myself a pep talk and kept going, and before I knew it, I had completed what I doubted I could do.  It felt good physically and emotionally to rise to the challenge.
  • Be love.
    *When I returned home from work, my two daughters welcomed me with big hugs and kisses, and they asked if we could snuggle together.  So, we piled onto the couch and spent some time just snuggling, not saying a word.  I cherish these moments with them, and we ended our snuggle session with more hugs and kisses and saying, “I love you” to one another.  Love is grand indeed.
  • Be beauty.
    *Too often, I go through my day without noticing all of the beauty that is present in the world, usually in the most unlikely of places.  So, today, I purposely looked for things that struck me as beautiful, and I relished the sight of the genuine smiles of the men who are homeless who come into the day shelter; the raindrops that danced across my windows; the flowering plants and trees along my commute; my daughters’ grins and giggles; and a host of other people, places, and things that I see every day, but saw in a more beautiful light today.
  • Be ever-expansive.
    *The best way to explain how I put this concept into action is to borrow a recent quote that resonated with me, I decided to “choose faith over worry”.
  • Be abundant.
    *Unlike yesterday, when I allowed some fears and doubts about some aspects of my life to be the focus of my thoughts, I focused on what it feels like when I think of the final outcome of my dreams and shored up my confidence that these goals are well within my reach.
  • Be receptive.
    *Too often, I try to figure out every possible solution to a challenge I am facing and grow frustrated when what I want or need does not happen in the timeframe that I have deemed appropriate and acceptable.  Today, I focused on allowing things to unfold in their own way and time, believing that guidance will come from other sources than just myself in how to deal with the challenges.  I definitely do not have all of the answers.

By living intentionally today, I no longer feel out of sorts, and I was able to be kind to myself and to extend that kindness to others.  It was a good day.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Beautiful and inspiring post! ❤

Leave a Reply

