Gone Fishing

7d2c8b32628cd827a3207fe536dadaee

Today, the one thing that I did for myself and for a very special group of people had an unlikely common denominator-fish.  Three co-workers and I took eight of the men, who are in one of our permanent supportive housing programs, fishing on a sunny, but unseasonably cool, morning, and to say that a good time was had by all, well, except for the fish that we caught, would be the understatement of the year.  The good time had more to do that just catching fish.

When I was asked to be one of the drivers for this outing, I readily agreed, as I always enjoy spending time with these men who were once homeless and who now are thriving in housing.  After a week of feeling out of sorts physically and emotionally, spending time in such stellar company in the great outdoors was just what I needed.  The warmth of the sunshine, the cool breeze, and the picturesque scenery of the pond surrounded by rolling hills and farmland were a treat for my senses and baby soul alike, as was the conversation and laughter.  For a few hours, I felt happy and relaxed, and that was a precious gift to give to myself on a day that has left me feeling lonely and blue, for reasons I do not quite understand.

Driving my co-worker and three of the men to the farm was a small way to help others, but I was reminded that one of the best things I could do for them was to be truly present to listen to their stories and fishing tips and to share my own stories with them in a beautiful and peaceful setting.  More than one man said that it felt “good to get away from the city” for a day, and many of them shared that they had not been fishing in years or that this was the first time that they had fished sober.  With each fish caught, we all cheered, and with each memory created, we smiled and laughed.  To able to do my small part to help make this event possible for them was such a joy.  In the end, we had a mess of fish and some good clean fun.

Just one thing each day . . .

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

6 replies

  1. What a lovely day! That’s such an awesome outing, I am so happy you were able to relax for a little while.:-)

  2. Hi Kristi,

    I can imagine how much your ‘favorite people’ enjoyed the fishing trip. I talk to homeless people on a daily basis. They’ve become my best friends. I’m not with an organization, but I do what little I can to help. I’ve been doing this for three years, still I have no answers. What these people need is ears to listen to them and open hearts to understand. They want to be acknowledged. A friendly hello goes a long way, a coffee and a sandwich is much appreciated.

    I am following your blog and hope to learn more about you.

    Cheers,
    Dennis

    • Dennis,

      Thanks for your kind words and support! I began working at a day shelter for homeless men quite by accident nearly three years ago, and I quickly discovered that this is niche and these are “my guys”. Being seen and heard are two of the things that can mean the most to a group of people who often are invisible to the rest of the world.

      You are proof positive that one does not need to belong to an organization to make a difference in the world, one only needs to act upon the good intentions in their heart. Thanks for all you do for this truly special group of people.

      Many thanks,

      Kristi

Leave a Reply

