Brewing Some Kindness

b2bcbe089baa5eddd7aa6d80a696a543

Some mornings begin earlier than others, and this Monday morning began exceptionally early, as a sinus infection and a restless mind woke me up after only two hours of sleep.  Try as I might, falling back asleep proved futile, so, by the time my alarm went off for work, I already had been up for several hours.  I definitely needed all the help I could get this morning, and I figured that my co-workers may be in need of some morning cheer, as well.

So, as the sun came up, I took a detour from my usual morning commute to stop by Starbucks to pick up tea and coffee for myself and for my colleagues who would be working alongside me at the day shelter for homeless men.  There is something so soothing and comforting about having hot green tea in the morning, and I was in desperate need of something, anything, that would warm my heart and boost my mood today.  I am fortunate enough to work with some of the most incredible people ever, and I was glad to be able to start their day with an unexpected treat to let them know that I appreciated their hard work and valued our relationship as colleagues.  Doing something kind for myself and my co-workers brightened the day and eased the pain of the previous night, and it got the week started on a good note for all of us.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

