The Call of the Wild

328e68e22144062753c38ef159beb23d

As I detailed in my post, “Finding My Way Home”, yesterday, I began a new position as the Program Director at the day shelter for homeless men where I have worked for almost three years.  That was yesterday, and I now am off for the next three days.  How about that for an executive decision?!  Even though I was off of work today, I did not take a day off from doing just one thing for myself and others.

The best thing that I did for myself today was to turn off my alarm clock and sleep in this morning.  Since I have not being sleeping well lately, forgoing my usual 4:30 a.m. wake up call for a more civilized wake up time of 7:15 a.m. felt absolutely decadent, as did lingering in bed.  One of the advantages of my daughters being their current ages is that they do not typically wake up before 8:00 a.m., unless it is a school day, and since school is out for the summer, I knew that I had some time to myself before they joined me this morning.  So, I spent some time just thinking, planning, and dreaming and then read for a while before my younger daughter cracked open my door and ran to jump in bed with me for some cuddle time.  Truly a wonderful way to begin the day!

The best thing that I did for others involved my daughters, who are two of my favorite recipients of kindness and goodness.  Since it is their summer vacation, I want them to be able to relax, regroup, and have fun after a long school year.  So, I focused on them today by encouraging them to choose what they wanted to do, instead of planning the day for them.  Since it was a warm and windy afternoon, they decided that they wanted to spend it at the zoo, which was more than fine with me, so, off we went to answer the call of the wild.  It was not crowded, and we delighted in watching all of the animals and taking our time to make our way through the zoo, all the while talking and laughing together.  It is in these informal, relaxed moments that I rediscover the many qualities that I love and admire in each of my daughters and that I learn something new about them.  They still love spending the day in my company, so, I was present for them and enjoyed this time together.  To continue with the zoo theme, they chose to end our day with a popcorn and movie night at home, featuring “Madagascar 3”.  They have thanked me with lots of smiles, big hugs, and kisses, and it is a sweet reminder that we need to “go wild” more often.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , ,

3 replies

  1. Congratulations on your new position! And what a lovely way to spend your “second day”! 🙂

Leave a Reply

