Little by Little

bcbc667db603b5f619fab2d926a9e629

The more focused I am on doing just one thing each day for myself and for others, the more I come to understand that as trite as it sounds, the little things really do mean a lot.  As I look back on the day, I compiled a list of the things I did today that I hope made a positive difference in the world.  In no particular order, here’s what transpired today . . .

  • I began my Monday morning with 10 minutes of meditation, which was a challenge for me in so many ways, but I did it and liked it actually.
  • I treated myself to my favorite hot green tea, which is called “Zen” no less, so, I carried the meditation theme with me throughout the morning.
  • I checked on someone’s home and took care of their fish while they are out-of-town.
  • I bought a birthday card to send to a friend.
  • I helped a friend replace some lost concert tickets.
  • I listened and talked with one of the men at the day shelter who is going through a tough time right now, and I shared a bit about my own experience with depression and offered him support.
  • I prayed for myself and for several people whom I care about a great deal.

So, I did a lot of little things today that I hope measured up, and I will look for more ways to do good tomorrow.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , ,

6 replies

  1. Mediation is also challenge for me, the closest I get to it is in yoga class. 😉

    Your posts always inspire me to think of some type of kindness “project” (for lack of a better word) to help or maybe inspire others. I haven’t come up with a plan yet, but I’m getting there 🙂

    • Meditation has been suggested to me countless times by a variety of people I really admire and respect, and it’s something I’ve always struggled to get “right”. Since it’s somewhat of a challenge for me to quiet myself inwardly, I always have shied away from it, but I feel called to do it lately, as a way to further heal and to grow. So, I am committing myself to doing it for at least 10 minutes/day and not judging myself for how well I do it. Like anything that takes me outside of my comfort zone, I realize, I just need to do it. My mind may wander at first, but I know if I practice it regularly, I will come to find the answers I seek in the silence, at least that’s my hope. Recently, my mentor reminded me that I have all I need to heal within me, so, instead of going outside of myself, I am turning inward. It’s yet another part of my journey.

      Thank you for your kind words, as they mean a lot. Some days, I wonder how much good I really do for myself and/or others, but as usual, you encourage and motivate me to keep going. You already do so much good in the world, if only by sharing of yourself. Keep doing what you’re doing, b/c it makes a positive difference!

Leave a Reply

