You Can Go Home Again

9a34ca617d3417aecab2a296a1bd5de5

Of all of the things that I have been a part of to do just one thing for someone, hands down, today was one of the best things that I have ever done.  It also is something that I cannot go into too much detail about, for a myriad of reasons., but I will share what I can, in the hopes that it will help other people to both ask for help and to offer help, even when the situation seems hopeless.  If you had told me yesterday that this particular situation would have turned out the way it did today, I never would have believed it.  Sometimes, the seemingly impossible is truly possible, if you only ask, believe, and receive.

Yesterday, my heart was heavy when someone reached out to me in the depths of their despair and asked for my help, and I did not have the resources to provide the relief and the assistance that they needed.  I wanted to help so much, but I had nothing to offer them at that time.  What a difference a day makes, though.  Today, I teamed up with someone else to try to come up with a solution to this person’s problems, and together, we devised a plan to help this person to return home, literally and figuratively.  When we were able to extend our offer to help to this person, they were overwhelmed with gratitude and emotions, as was I.  Through tears, this person thanked us and said that they loved us, and with tears in my own eyes, I told this person that we just wanted them to return home to live a happy and healthy life and to help someone else when they were in a position to do so.  They promised to do both, and I know that they will keep their word.

After a long day at work, the best thing that I did for myself was to accept an invitation to meet my amazing friend, Kelly, for dinner and then to end the evening with a phone call from another friend.  I had planned to head home after work to spend the evening alone doing chores, so, it was a welcome change to unwind at the end of the day sharing a delicious meal, great conversation, and lots of laughs with my friend.  The phone call with my friend left me with more smiles, which is a wonderful way to close out the day.  I definitely get by with a little help from my friends, and they make me feel at home wherever I am.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Sounds like a lovely evening! I hope today was just as, if not more, lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

