Oh Happy Day

c6c4a6c65f68143a67e455d8439bca46

My “Friday” actually began yesterday, as I took the day off of work today.  It was a week of ups and downs, and I stepped away from my blog for the past two nights to surround myself with good friends and family to provide some balance with work.  Now, that it is the end of the week, I find myself ready to begin again.  Although it is a lazy day at home with my girls, I already have managed to do something good for myself and one other person.  It has been a good start to the day, and I definitely am not going to rest on my laurels, as I will continue to seek out more good as the day progresses.

The best thing that I did for myself today was to take the day off from work, and I did so for two reasons.  The first and best reason for today’s vacation day was to spend time with my two daughters who returned home from a trip with my parents last night.  I missed them, but I was so happy that they were having such a great vacation and creating memories with their grandparents.  I didn’t want to only have a little bit of time with them last night before having to spend the day away from them while I was at work, so, staying home with them has been a wonderful treat for all three of us.

The other thing that I am going to do for myself is to see my doctor for a six-month check up this afternoon.  I have ulcerative colitis, so, even though spending part of my day off at the doctor’s office for a check up and lab work is not my idea of fun, it is necessary, in order for me to stay healthy enough to be able to do all of the things that I enjoy.  I lost my maternal grandmother to colon cancer thirty-five years ago today, and I always have wondered if she still would here with us, if only she had sought medical treatment sooner.  She was diagnosed in March and died three months later, and that has haunted me my whole life.  I take preventative health measures, seek out medical care, when needed, and am an informed patient, as taking care of myself is one of the greatest ways to love and care for myself.

Today is a friend’s birthday, and I hope that I made it a bit more of a special day for them with the phone call that began their day and another small surprise that is on the way.  Just like New Year’s Day, birthdays are a fresh start and a launching pad for making the upcoming year the best one possible and for bringing dreams to life, and they should be celebrated fully.   I also believe that birthdays are a great day to let others know how much their entrance into this world has impacted my world in a positive manner.  So, for this particular friend, I decided to send them a text every hour for these twenty-four hours to say something that I like about them or why I am glad that we are friends.  I played catch up for the overnight hours I slept through as soon as I woke up this morning, and  I will finish this birthday exercise up at midnight.  It is something small, but I hope that it makes a big impact, as I don’t know that my friend always recognizes both how extraordinary they are or how much their friendship is appreciated.  Hopefully, by the end of the day, they will, though.  Happy birthday!

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. As I sit awaiting the birth of my second grandchild, I DO appreciate the value of each birth and the celebration of birthdays each year as a new beginning. I am glad that you took this opportunity to show your friend how much you cared.
    Have a great weekend.

    • Congratulations on the impending arrival of your second grandchild! Everyone comes into this world with a purpose and with dreams to fulfill, and I think that birthdays should be the most celebrated event ever. There’s nothing more special than life!

  2. What a wonderful way to honor a friends birthday, I love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

