When Fools Rush In

aa28a9d7eb99fd1fbed799553a49dc10

It is never too early in the day to hear something that makes me laugh, even if it is unintentional.  In fact, some of the funniest things I have heard are the things said in complete seriousness that are utter nonsense, which is the inspiration behind “Irregardless”.  Earlier this morning, I definitely was inspired yet again.

My friend and I were having a conversation, and I shared a variation on the quote included in this post when I described my Dad’s reaction to someone.  When I remarked, “He doesn’t suffer fools lightly”, my friend was uncharacteristically silent.  They then asked me to repeat what I had just said, so, I did and was met with more silence.  Finally, they said, “I don’t get it”, which sent me into a fit of giggles.  For some reason, I found it funny that they didn’t understand what the expression meant, which has nothing to do with their level of intelligence or comprehension and more to do with the fact that they have acted the fool, which has not been suffered gladly by others, myself included.

Irregardless of how obvious something may seem, sometimes, to some people, it is not so obvious, but it is oh so funny, even if I am the only one who thinks so.



Categories: Irregardless . . .

Tags: , , ,

2 replies

  1. Hello,

    Been a long time since I visited your gem of a blog (Aug of last year).

    Hope all is well and I am enjoying catching up on your blog.

    Jeb

Leave a Reply

