Tying Up Loose Ends

34a66a5b95b717fea44bad259440fc1a

This morning, I woke up in a pensive mood, which is not to say that I was feeling anxious or depressed, but this reflective mood was tinged with a bit of melancholy and remained with me throughout the day.  Instinctively, I knew what I needed to do to sort through the thoughts and feelings that took up residence in my mind and my heart today, and so, I set out to tie up some loose ends in a number of areas in my life.  I decimated most of my ‘To Do’ list; scheduled time to meet with my friend and mentor, Trude; placed a call to a my partner in blogging, Vagabond Ted; made plans with friends for the near future; and a number of other big and small tasks that kept me focused on the here and now, rather than worrying about the “what ifs’ and the future.  I intend to take time before I go to sleep to pray and meditate to address the pervasive thoughts and feelings that accompanied me today, but sometimes, keeping myself busy tying up loose ends helps keep me from reaching my wit’s end.

I tied up another loose end in the form of a telephone call to my middle sister who is celebrating a birthday today.  While my daughters and I sent her cards and gifts, we also called her to wish her a very happy birthday and to let her know that we were thinking of her.  Truly, there is no day more special than the one that someone enters the world, and I hope that my daughters and I were able to remind my sister that she is special to us today and each day.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

2 replies

  1. I have those days, I am glad you were able to keep busy! Sometimes it seems to be the best thing to do while sorting all the thoughts ad/or feelings out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

