You’ve Come a Long Way, Baby

1b01c550ca4c13d16156b179d25f5c6b

Today was not the usual lazy Sunday that I have grown accustomed to of late, but it was a truly great day nonetheless.  It was another day to do something good for myself and for others, and what I did involved some of the countless lessons that I have learned throughout the past two years of incredible changes in my life.  For some inexplicable reason, as soon as I woke up this morning, rather than lament the busy day ahead and worry about some of the more unsettled areas of my life, something within me told me that I already have everything I need to continue to heal, grow, and thrive.  This self-awareness left me feeling content and confident, and I was able to approach today’s tasks and tomorrow’s worries with a positive perspective and an arsenal of positive steps to take to help myself and others.  This is definitely progress.

I have learned the importance of self-care, in terms of physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional health, and this knowledge led me to do a number of things for myself on this busy Sunday:

  • I began my day by lighting two of my favorite candles and sitting in meditation for 10 minutes, which sometimes feels more like 10 hours for me, but this  morning, it felt sublime to sit alone in silence.  I still am learning to stay focused, but I am getting there and learning to enjoy it.
  • I worked out for about an hour, and it felt so good to push myself and to break a good sweat.  Exercise has a way of awakening my body, mind, and baby soul in such a powerful way, and when I don’t engage in regular exercise, all three of these parts of me suffer.
  • I finished reading one book and continued reading another book, which informed and inspired me.
  • I ate delicious, nutritious foods for all three meals and my snack, which made me feel healthier and stronger overall.
  • I completed more things on my “To Do” list, and it is a relief not to have those things hanging over head to begin the week.  I loved that feeling of accomplishment that this gave me.
  • I decided to be happy right now, instead of waiting for all of my goals and dreams to come to fruition.  It sounds simplistic, but for me, this is a significant shift.  While I have learned to manage the anxiety and depression that used to plague me, I still hang on to them, in the sense that I sometimes feel guilty for being happy, for fear that if I give up the two things that have defined me, at least in my own mind, that I will somehow lose who I am or that life has to be perfect for there to be true happiness.  Well, life is not perfect and neither am I, but both are pretty good as is.  For some reason, some of the my best thoughts and ideas come to me in the shower, and it was there that I realized that I need to put my faith into action and let go of all of the worry and fear surrounding all that remains unsettled in my life and focus on all of the good that is present.  It may be easier said than done, but today, I did it.

I also have learned a number of lessons regarding being a mom to my two daughters that I was reminded of today when we were together:

  • The most valuable commodities I have to share with my daughters are my time and attention, and this was evident during my “Mom-Daughter Day” with my oldest child.  I took her to have her yearly pictures taken this morning, and as is our tradition, we went to lunch and then shopping afterward, just the two of us.  To be able to focus just on her and to soak in her infectious laughter and listen to her take on a variety of subjects was an absolute delight.  She rewarded me with ample hand holding, hugs, kisses, and words of thanks, and at dinner, when I asked her what the best part of her day was, she responded, “Spending the afternoon with you, Mom.”
  • Along the same lines, I have learned that family time is so precious, so, I made dinner that thankfully did not set off our smoke alarms for once, and we all sat down to eat together.  There are no electronic devices of any kind allowed at the table, the television is off, and the telephone is not answered while we eat and talk with one another.  Again, that simple ritual is one that is sacred to all three of us, as it allows us to share our respective days with one another uninterrupted.
  • I also was more aware of how I spoke to my daughters and included a beautiful phrase that my ridiculously talented and creative friend, Julie, shared yesterday.  The article she shared is called “Six Words You Should Say Today”, and those six words are, “I love to watch you __________.”  To my oldest daughter, I said, “I love to watch you laugh”.  To my younger daughter, I commented, “I love to watch you bake.”  Just try it, and you will understand the impact that these words have.
  • We will end the day doing sharing what we write in our gratitude journals, and they always tell me how much they like to end their day together sharing these positive things.  It has taught them to seek out the good in people and in situations and to be grateful for even the smallest gift or blessing.

Just one thing each day . . .

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. I really feel that you have come a long way in the past year.
    I can feel the sense of peace and calm that is now present in your days.
    This is a fantastic list that you shared today. thank you

    • Elizabeth, you are someone who has been there from the beginning, so, I truly appreciate your feedback! It is interesting to look back over the past year and to see how much we have learned and how much we have grown, and I believe that this is only the beginning of great things headed our way. Keep going, and know I am right there with you!

  2. Beautiful. Self care and letting go of the worry that surrounds unsettled aspects of life can be so difficult to implement!
    For me the guilt lies in doing something for myself when someone else needs my attention or help. It is a balance I have yet to master.
    I admire your strength and dedication to not only helping others, but also having a pretty good handle on balancing caring for others and yourself. ❤

    • As always, I thank you so very much for being so supportive! Not to perpetuate stereotypes, but I do think women, especially moms, have been conditioned to take care of everyone first and to put themselves last, hence the guilt when we move ourselves up on the list. It is a delicate balance, but I know that for me, when I don’t take time to do things that are positive for myself, I can’t take care of others in a manner that I would like to do so.

Leave a Reply

