No Time Like the Present

813c1b3a77c4969ff12248436193bee5

 

These past few days, I have experienced something akin to writer’s block . . .kindness block.  This is not to say that I have been unkind, at least, I certainly hope that I have not been so, but rather, it means that at the end of the day, I have not been able to articulate what I did for myself and/or anyone else to make a positive difference.  So, instead of writing something just for the sake of publishing a post, I decided to take a step back and regroup.  This morning, I made the decision to step up and step back in, and I hatched a plan to be more consciously kind.

At work, we are required to keep detailed activity logs about our daily tasks and the time spent on each one, so, I decided to keep a sort of kindness log today.  My goal was to do at least one thing to do for myself and someone else every waking hour today.  It seemed a bit daunting, but I felt up for the challenge.  Here is how my day of kindness unfolded:

  • 6-7 a.m.: I slept in a bit, as I have not been getting enough sleep this week, and I said a prayer for a friend of mine who is near and dear to my heart.
  • 7-8 a.m.: Before I headed off to work, I left each of my slumbering daughters a note telling them to have a great day and that I love them, and I also made sure that I took my vitamins and supplements that help to keep me healthy.
  • 8-9 a.m.:  I took time to say ‘good morning’ to all of my colleagues and to as many men at the day shelter as I could before I was ensconced in my office most of the day working on various projects, and I savored my favorite hot ginger tea to start my day off on a pleasant note.
  • 9-10 a.m.: I sent my friend a cheerful text to begin their with a smile, and I lit one of my favorite Aveda candles to brighten my office with its scent and light.
  • 10-11 a.m.: I gave a much-needed hug to,  and shared words of encouragement with, one of the men in the day shelter who continues to face the challenges of finding a job, and I treated myself to the melodic offerings of Pandora Radio while I worked in my office.
  • 11 a.m.-12 p.m.: I took a break to make myself some iced tea to quench my thirst on this steamy, hot day, and I gathered up some discarded paper and cardboard and placed it in the day shelter’s recycling area.
  • 12-1 p.m.:  I took time to enjoy a delicious lunch prepared by one of the day shelter’s wonderful volunteers with my colleagues, and I gave a dictionary to one of the men in the day shelter who asked me for one to help with his reading comprehension and writing skills, in the hopes of preparing a “good-looking resume to help me land a decent job”.
  • 1-2 p.m.:  I offered words of praise to the incredible case managers who work tirelessly on behalf of all of the men at the day shelter and in our housing programs to offer hope and help, and I enjoyed a decadent dessert.
  • 2-3 p.m.:  I shared a good laugh with some of the men in the day shelter, which did all of us a world of good, as laughter is the best medicine.
  • 3-4 p.m.:  I had a great meeting with my boss, and I was able to help take some of the work off of her plate.  It also gave me the chance to be grateful for a job that I truly love.
  • 4-5 p.m.: I came home from work and played with my younger daughter, and I took time to myself to just relax.
  • 5-6 p.m.:  I helped my younger daughter gather the necessary ingredients for her do-it-yourself “spa treatments” this evening, and I just delighted in laughing and talking with her, both which do my heart good.
  • 6-7 p.m.:  I had a great conversation that ran the gamut from being silly to being serious with one of my favorite people, and after a long day of work for both of us, it left us both laughing, smiling, and feeling better than prior to the conversation, at least I hope it did for them.
  • 7-8 p.m.:  I snuggled with my younger daughter, and I found time to write.

As I get ready for a good night’s sleep, which I desperately need at the moment, I will close out today’s kindness log.  Looking back over this day, I realize that there are opportunities to be kind every hour of the day, in both big and small days, and I just need to be more present in my life to take advantage of the unlimited chances to take positive action.  It really is that easy, no matter how complicated I try to make it sometimes.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

4 replies

  1. In the hustle and bustle of daily life, it is all too easy to forget those small acts of kindness that mean so much. You would have brightened several people’s days today. 🙂

  2. Such a wonderful reminder there are so many opportunities throughout the day share kindness with others! ❤

Leave a Reply

