On the Right Trail

989e6a8d0bd1ece2eeaad482d5482a5f

Despite getting only a few hours of sleep, I still bound out of bed ready to go as soon as my alarm went off this morning, for I yearned to begin my day alone on the trails.  In the past, I have sought emotional, spiritual, and mental refuge that could only be found among the fauna and the flora, and the dirt beneath my feet kept me grounded in a way that pavement could not.  Those winding trails became another “home” for my body, heart, mind, and baby soul, and today, I knew that the absolutely best thing that I could do for myself was to return “home”.

When I pulled into the small gravel lot near the opening of one particular trail, I had an unexpected realization.  In the past, I had arrived at the same spot feeling anxious, depressed, and damaged, and I could not scramble out of the car fast enough to hit the trails, as if it were possible to outrun myself and my pain.  On a splendid June morning, I found myself sitting in my car and taking in the beauty of the landscape that was before me, and I sat still in grateful silence.  In that moment, I realized that instead of running to escape my shattered world, I had arrived at the park this morning already being good enough, flaws and all.  I no longer needed to find my happy; I was and am happy.  Before even taking one step on the trails, I had arrived, and I ran out of pure joy and with wild abandon.  As so often happens when I trail run, happy tears and sweat ran down my face, as if to wash away any residual pain, and left in its place was only happiness.  To begin the day with this newfound self-awareness and insight were unexpected and beautiful gifts that carried me through the rest of my day.

Shortly after my trail run, I had the pleasure of spending time with my friend, mentor, and Wellbriety guide, Trude, and our time together gave me the chance to do something kind for her.  Whenever we spend time together, Trude always has tea waiting for me, but today, I decided to be the one bearing tea.  On the way to meet her, I stopped at my favorite local place, Please & Thank You, where I was greeted by Lilly, who brightens my day with her very presence, and I ordered two hot ginger teas to go.  This is one of my favorite teas, and I wanted to share it with one of my favorite people.  Trude’s wisdom, kindness, and support have definitely warmed my heart and soothed my soul, so, this was a small way to show her my appreciation.  Her genuine smile and words of thanks felt as warm and welcoming as the tea.  This spot of tea was spot on indeed.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. I was so thrilled to read of realization that you have reached your ‘happy’ and begin the day like that without having to work at it. It is a fantastic place to be. I am so happy for you. You are an inspiration. 🙂

Leave a Reply

