No Excuses

e2ba99d969a49d8e48c71115a4ca35d5

I have come to realize that sometimes when things do not go as planned, it allows me unexpected opportunities to do something positive for myself and/or someone else.  I intended to start my day just like I did yesterday, with a long trail run, but the local weather had different plans.  Just as I put on my running gear, there was a clap of thunder, and the rain came down.  I love to run in the rain actually, but not so much in thunderstorms.  Disappointment swept over me, and my first thought was that I couldn’t exercise today.  My second thought was that my first thought was an excuse.

At times, when my plans are derailed, I will use the change of plans as an excuse to not do what I intended to do, but not today.  As I watched the rain and mulled over my excuse, I reminded myself of my health and fitness goals and how good it feels to challenge my body physically.  I was already dressed to exercise and had plenty of time to work out, and I have an elliptical trainer in my home.  Suddenly, not working out no longer was an option, and thirty-five minutes later, I was drenched in sweat and beaming with satisfaction.  It was a great reminder that when I get out of my own way and focus on solutions, not excuses, that I can do make healthy choices and take positive steps toward reaching a goal.

After I worked out, I went to my childhood home for a Father’s Day brunch to honor my Dad and my ex-husband (I really need to find a more positive term for him).  This year’s Father’s Day celebration was tinged with sadness, as it is the first one since my father-in-law passed away suddenly two months ago, and it comes days after his birthday.  Recognizing that this would be a difficult day for my ex-husband, in addition to cards and gifts from our two daughters, I bought him a card to let him know that he is loved and appreciated by the girls and me.  I also told him that I understood that he continues to grieve for his Dad and that I missed my father-in-law, too, and I knew that he needed some time alone today.  After brunch, the girls stayed with me for a few hours, and when I took them to his house, he thanked me.  It was the least I could do, especially since he will be ending his Father’s Day with our daughters and two of their friends at the One Direction concert.  That alone makes him “Father of the Year”!

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Reblogged this on Get Your Daily Phil Here. and commented:
    great post , thanks for sharing.Gave you a follow to………….YourDailyPhil.com

  2. “It was a great reminder that when I get out of my own way and focus on solutions, not excuses, that I can do make healthy choices and take positive steps toward reaching a goal”.
    Now that is one for me to try and follow every day. thanks .

Leave a Reply

