A Year on the Yellow Brick Road

b7dd5a1216cb94c423264c8ff6b263a6

“Once upon a time  . . .”  With those four words,  one year ago today, I ventured into the unknown world of blogging.  With that unoriginal title of my first blog post, an unrealized dream of being a writer, and a blank screen ready to receive all of the thoughts, feelings, and ideas swirling around in my head, I began to write.   I wasn’t familiar with blogging at all, and still cannot totally wrap my brain around it, but I just felt this nagging desire to write, so, I did.

As I reflected on this past year and reread some of my older posts, I cried bittersweet tears and recalled Dorothy in “The Wizard of Oz”.  Like Dorothy, I longed to go somewhere over the rainbow and set off down my own yellow brick road, and along the way, I encountered friends who were on their own respective journeys, yet graciously walked alongside me on mine.  I did not encounter any lions, tigers, or bears (well, except one), but I met a number of challenges that definitely gave me pause and made me say, “Oh my!”  When Dorothy arrived at the fabled Emerald City, she found out that the great and powerful Oz was anything but that, and in turn, she discovered that she had the power to find her way back home the entire time.  I have sought to find my happy in other people, places, and things, only to realize that the power to be happy and to make my dreams come true lie within me.  While the film ended with Dorothy safely back in Kansas, my journey continues.

After hundreds of posts and thousands of words, I want to thank every single person who read even one word that I wrote.  Truly, I am grateful and humbled beyond measure, as I still cannot believe that anyone is interested in,  or can relate to, my little dog and pony show.  I honestly thought only some of my family and friends may give my blog a look every now and then, so, it never ceases to amaze me when I see that people all around the world have stumbled upon my blog.  I just write what comes to my mind and is in my heart, and along the way, I hope that what I share encourages, entertains, and/or educates those who choose to spend some time perusing my musings.  So, heartfelt thanks to you all for allowing me to share parts of myself and my life with you in this venue.

Despite a year of great changes and lots of lessons learned, I still am the same big-hearted southern girl who dreams big and who has stories to tell.  So, stay tuned, as the best is yet to come.

That’s another story . . .



Categories: That's Another Story

Tags: , , , ,

5 replies

  1. Awe, what a wonderful and inspiring milestone! Your big heart shines through in all that you write. I am so happy and grateful to share your journey! Cheers to another year of personal growth, memories and more! ❤

  2. Congratulations on reaching your milestone of one year of blogging. You have come a long way and you are inspiring! I am so glad to have been part of your journey in some small way.
    I do believe you are correct, for you ‘the best is yet to come’.
    Best wishes as you journey forward.

    • Elizabeth, heartfelt thanks, as you have been there from the start, and I am so glad that we found one another. We have made a lot of progress, and we will continue to make positive changes that will lead us to where are meant to be. Here’s to the ongoing journey!

Leave a Reply

