Lost in Translation

531f6d2d31d954163127c348fc9519bd

I am fond of saying that there really should be a reality television show about the day shelter for homeless men where I work, as it would be ratings gold.  In addition to stories of hope and heartbreak, there are some unintentionally funny moments.  Last week, when I attended a gathering of the men in our permanent supportive housing programs, I was treated to one of those latter moments.

One of the men desperately would like to have a girlfriend, but he has not had much luck in this area yet.  He is tall, nice looking, gregarious, talkative, and friendly, and he usually has a smile on his face and never has met a stranger.  So, what’s the problem?  Read on . . .

When he was talking to another staff member and me, he was his usual charming and outgoing self.  He made conversation by regaling us with his stories and asking us questions, and then, he decided to pay us what he thought were the sincerest of compliments.  To my colleague, he remarked, “I can’t believe that you weren’t a runner in high school, because you have big calves”, while I was told, “You have beautiful teeth!  Are they dentures?”  For the record, my colleague does not have large calves, and my teeth are my own.

Irregardless of how good something sounds while it is swirling around in your head, you may want to think about how it sounds when said aloud, as things definitely can get lost in translation.



Categories: Irregardless . . .

Tags: , , ,

6 replies

  1. Hehe, thank you for the chuckles, its just what I needed! 🙂

  2. That is priceless ….I have met some of the residents of the day shelter and they can be characters for sure.

Leave a Reply

