All Work & No Play? No Way!

6f4a2955d5fbc088065c41cd2134c76e

After two days of illness, I was happy and relieved to wake up restored to good health, and I was raring to go.  I immediately took stock of everything both at home and at work that had been put on the back burner while I was burning up with a fever, and before I even threw off the covers, I threw together a plan to decimate my task list.  Then, something happened. 

Almost as soon as I devised my plan and carefully mapped out how to get the most out of this day, I thought to myself, ” I don’t want to do this.  It’s the weekend, and I want to play more than work.”  So, I revised my list to focus on only the absolute most essential things that needed to be done, such as grocery shopping and cutting the grass.   Then, I set out to come up with ways for my daughters and me to play this weekend, which was by far the best thing that I could for myself and for them today.  All three of us needed time to have some fun, and there was no time like the present.

So, other than grocery shopping, the rest of the day was all about having fun.  We headed downtown to a revitalized area of the city, nicknamed  ‘Nulu’, for a morning of exploring some of the places we pass by, but never take the time to stop and explore.  We began our urban adventure being greeted and served by our favorite baristas at Please & Thank You, and then headed out to visit local businesses, such as Why Louisville, Too; Red Tree; Peace of Earth, etc.  In addition to having fun discovering new places, we simply enjoyed talking, laughing, and walking together on a warm summer day. 

The fun didn’t end this evening, as we made our way back downtown to attend a Louisville Bats baseball game.  We were joined by one of my oldest daughter’s friends, and we ended up running into some dear friends of mine who joined us for the last few innings.  The more, the merrier was our theme for the evening!  The heat of the day gave way to a nice breeze and cooler temperatures, as rain clouds began to gather in the distance, and we thoroughly enjoyed our night at the ball park cheering for the home team.  My oldest daughter is spending the night with her friend, and my younger daughter and I are getting ready for our own version of a sleepover here at home.   We are all tired after a full day of fun, and we are sure to have sweet dreams tonight.  I already am looking forward to seeing what fun we can get into tomorrow.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. A well deserved wonderful day, I am so happy for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

