Game On

66a3a87098a15b605841d2b74dc7b9e2

Mondays tend to be most people’s least favorite day of the week, and I have to say that, for me, some Mondays are better than others.  I absolutely love  my job, which makes the start of the work week much easier, but that said, every other Monday definitely is my least favorite day.  That is because every other Monday is when I have to review, correct, and approve time sheets at work, a task that is the bane of my existence for a number of reasons.  So, to thrive on “Time Sheet Monday”, I pulled out all the stops to make my least favorite day one of my better days.

To begin the day, I worked out, had a healthy breakfast, and stopped at my favorite local spot, Please & Thank You, for a cup of ginger tea and kindness, courtesy of the best baristas in the world.  When I settled in behind my desk and cozied up with the looming stack of time sheets, I lit the new grapefruit and bergamot candle that my daughters helped me pick out from another local business, Peace of Earth, during our Saturday outing.  The citrus scent was just the dose of fragrant sunshine that this rainy Monday needed, and it was invigorating.  I also fired up Pandora Radio and was treated to musical ear candy from some of my favorite artists, such as Rush, The Smiths, U2, Miranda Lambert, Jason Aldean, etc.  Music is said to soothe the savage beast, and I can attest that it made “Time Sheet Monday” much nicer.  All of these little things made it a wonderful start to the week indeed, and I am looking forward to seeing how I can make tomorrow as good or even better.

One of the things I dislike about summer vacation is that my daughters are still slumbering when I leave for work.  This morning, I decided to give them something to look forward to this evening, so, I taped the following note to their bathroom mirror:

IMG-20130624-00018

When I came home from work, I was greeted with hugs, kisses, and anticipation and excitement for “Game Night”.  We enjoyed dinner together, and while I was cleaning up the kitchen, my two daughters wrote the following note in preparation for our evening of fun and games:

IMG-20130624-00017r the

While it looks rather intimidating, it was written in jest, and we played a rousing game of Scrabble that elicited lots of giggles and light-hearted banter.  For the record, I was not the loser, but it is tough to brag about my win, considering I defeated two children whose combined ages equals half of mine.  Because we were together having a great time, we all were winners tonight!

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. I love game nights, sounds like a lovely evening! 🙂

  2. I simply LOVE playing board games with the children and scrabble is one of my favourites.
    This post brings back happy memories to me.

Leave a Reply

