A Spot of Tea

4e1abcf0f5b0c89113b1cc51b97df424

Leave it to one of my friends to do something unexpectedly kind to both begin my day with a smile and to inspire me to pass along kindness to another person.  When I arrived at Please & Thank You for my morning pick-me-up order of ginger tea, I was informed that my fabulous friend, Kelly, had stopped in last week and paid for my next cup of tea.  Although I have been to my favorite local haunt since she performed this sweet gesture, the barista who waited on Kelly and I have missed each other, due to conflicting schedules.  This morning, the stars aligned, and we finally made contact, and she made me a delicious cup of tea courtesy of Kelly.  The tea was hot and delicious, but Kelly’s friendship and thoughtfulness were what truly warmed my heart and made me smile.  I was so delighted by this surprise that I wanted to do the same for someone else, so, I left money with the barista to treat the next customer to a spot of tea.  There’s nothing like a sweet surprise to start the day!

After beginning the morning on such a great note, I was motivated to extend this kindness to myself.  One thing that I did was to take some quiet time this evening to enjoy another cup of tea and just allow myself to unwind after a long day and to savor all of the blessings in my life, and you can bet that Kelly was among those blessings for which I gave thanks.  Focusing on all that there is to be grateful for in my perfectly flawed life puts things in perspective and makes me feel much more positive overall, and that is the best thing I can do for myself on any given day.

Just one thing each day . . .

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Such a sweet and thoughtful gesture! I love it! I miss the simplicity of small town coffee shops, there is something so special about them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

