Many Thanks

d85163ba74953f2d9780aeb75a762532

I woke up this morning at 6:34 a.m., and I needed to be ready to leave for work by 7:15 a.m.  Beginning my morning feeling stressed and pressed for time definitely was not the calm morning I envisioned, but since I lacked the power to turn back the hands of time, I had to play the hand I was dealt and move forward . . . quickly.  When I jumped in the shower, I felt frustrated that I had somehow managed to sleep through my alarm and felt a bad mood descending upon me.  The morning was eroding with each passing second.

As the hot water washed over me, it occurred to me that to let the first few minutes of the morning ruin the rest of my waking hours was ridiculous, so, I decided to focus on everything that was right in the world, as opposed to what was wrong at the moment.  Counting my blessings and focusing on being grateful are tricks of the trade that I recently adopted to help banish depression and anxiety when they return, and much my cynical surprise, it generally works.  Here are some of the things that I gave thanks for this morning that boosted my mood and put this morning’s frenzied start into perspective:

  • Clean, hot, readily available water for my shower.
  • Vanilla scented Philosophy Body Wash, which not only has the most wonderful scent, but it also reminds me of my sweet friends, Matt and Peter, who graciously gave it to me for my birthday.
  • Electricity to power up my lights, hair dryer, and air conditioner, which were three of things that made getting ready easier and more pleasant.
  • My cell phone, which provides me with practical information, such as the weather forecast, and texts and e-mails from colleagues, family, and friends.
  • The amazing babysitter who is taking care of my daughters this summer, as she makes it much easier to leave them, knowing that they are in such fun, capable hands.
  • Music that makes my spirits soar.
  • Hot ginger tea and fabulous baristas who serve it up to me with efficiency and smiles.
  • My job, which I look forward to every day.

By 7:01 a.m., when I was showered, dressed, and ready to go to work (it pays to be low maintenance and fast), I had forgotten that I had overslept, thanks to remembering some of the many people and things that make my life better and brighter.

Continuing with this theme of giving thanks, I sent a ‘thank you’ message to the customer service representative who assisted me with another issue that I had with my cell phone last night.  Dana was professional, courteous, and knowledgeable, and in eight minutes, she deftly and expertly resolved the issue that took another representative nearly two hours to resolve a few days ago.  At the end of our call, Dana said that she would text me her e-mail address, in the event that I had any other questions or concerns.  Today, when I went to delete her text, I decided to take the time to send her an e-mail thanking her for her assistance.  It may have been her job to help me, but everyone deserves to be told that they did a great job,, including Dana.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

2 replies

  1. As difficult as it is to put into action, focusing on gratitude and positivity make such a difference when faced with a challenging day or feeling overwhelmed. Wonderful reminder! 🙂

Leave a Reply

