Kindness Does Not Take a Holiday

30e62996991f5b9f10e7944d6466d3ac

Rain has washed out most of the Fourth of July celebrations locally, but it couldn’t wash out today’s acts of kindness.  As happens every day at 7:00 a.m., 365 days a year, the doors at the day shelter for homeless men where I work opened, and the work day began on what was a holiday for most Americans.  I was one of the staff working this morning, and in light the rainy holiday, I decided to do what I could to brighten up the day as much as possible for myself and for my co-workers.

On the way to work, the rain began to fall, so, I made a detour to Starbucks to get coffee and tea for my colleagues and myself.  It felt more like an early fall morning than a summer morning, so, the hot beverages were greeted with warm, appreciative smiles.  The drinks gave us a chance to share some friendly banter over a cup of cheer, and we began our day on a good note and were able to greet the men fueled by caffeine and the positive energy that radiates from a band of co-workers whose heads and hearts are in the right place to support one another and to serve those in need of hope and help.  So, working on this holiday felt far more like a holiday than work.

As the rain continued, rather than bemoan a fact that I couldn’t change, I relished the chance to spend some time alone in the comfort of my home on this rainy day.  It has been a peaceful evening replete with a cat nap, a nice chat with a friend, and time to relax with a movie and good reading material.  While this day may lack fireworks, it was not short on kindness, and to me, that is a very good day indeed.

Just one thing each day .  .  .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Wow Kristi Jo….every time I read one of your blogs they just resonate with me. I am not really a big fireworks person anyway and prefer the type of lovely evening you ended up having. The men and your co-workers are so blessed to have you in their life.

    • Thanks, Sheila, and I am so glad that I am not alone in relishing a quiet 4th of July at home. It was devoid of fireworks, but it lit up my heart and baby soul. My colleagues and the guys truly are blessings in my life, so, it is easy to return their kindness.

  2. There is no place like home at the end of the day. .

Leave a Reply

