Step To It

95d04cb3f70c3858acc694fde0ca3bc7

It is one thing to say that you have faith, it is another thing to put that faith into action.  I am big on faith when things are going well, but when things are not going smoothly, well, that’s when I tend to trade in faith for hopelessness.  My most recent exchange of faith for hopelessness was over the weekend, which helped me to realize that giving up on a dream doesn’t mean I have to give up dreaming altogether or lose faith in myself or others.  No, it means that I have the opportunity to dream a new dream and take steps toward making other dreams come true, which is exactly what I decided to do.  Some of those steps include helping others, in addition to myself.

As I have stated previously, my dream is write on a professional level, so, I am committed to taking at least one step each day toward that goal.  Today, in addition to writing this blog post, I also followed up with a lead from my very talented colleague, Gail, who is in the process of having her first book published.  She is an amazing person and to watch her achieve this goal is thrilling, and I am so grateful for her support and guidance as I pursue my own dream of writing.  I have faith that if I take steps each day that I will find my way to writing professionally, so, onward I go.

In the midst of a very hectic day at work, I took a telephone call from one of the men who frequents the day shelter and is in pursuit of his own dreams.  This older gentleman has been homeless off and on for the better part of two decades, and he is a member of the working poor who just wants a better job and a home of his own, two things I do not have to offer him, but two things I am more than willing to try to help him obtain.  Even though acting as his unofficial case manager is not part of my job description, it is part of my duties as a fellow human being to do what I can to make sure that the most basic of his needs are met, so, together, we are going to take every step possible that will lead him to the door of a new job and home once again.  He has to take these steps, but it is always easier to walk when you are supported.  What an honor it is to be his companion on this path!

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. I have no doubt you will achieve your dream of writing professionally! I look forward to sharing your journey and buying a copy of your book! Hint, hint 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Taking the First Step. | The Power Within

Leave a Reply

