Committing to Kindness

873ab1256b64501aa8fa5e25a159e504

Much like the beginning of a new year, there is something about my birthday month that inspires and motivates me.  Three days into August, I find myself refocused on a number of goals, one of them being to take better care of myself physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.  This recommitment to my own health and well-being on these levels does not mean that there is something “wrong”, on the contrary, as I feel in a good spot overall in my life at the moment.  I just know that I could do a better job in certain areas of my life, and I want to continue to make progress.

So, I began the day with a game plan in mind of what I wanted to do in each of the aforementioned four areas.  For my physical health, I made time to go for a trail run, which also eased my mind, boosted my spirits, and nourished my baby soul, and I chose fruits, vegetables, and lean proteins to fuel my body and to stay healthy.  It is amazing how much better I feel overall when I take care of my physical needs.  I took time to spend with my friend/mentor/Wellbriety coach, Trude, whose sage advice, unflagging support, and irreverent sense of humor always help me to learn and apply an arsenal of coping skills and strategies to continue to effectively keep the anxiety and depression under control.  She most definitely is good for my mind and heart.  As I waited for the sun to come up, I indulged in one of my favorite pastimes, reading, which helped to shake the cobwebs from my head.  I also took time this morning to pray and give thanks for all that I have, and such a simple act set the tone for a positive, productive day.

I also did something for one of my favorite people on the planet, although they won’t know what I did for a few days.  While out running errands, I stopped to buy birthday cards for some family members, when I came across an absolutely hilarious card that had me laughing out loud in the aisle.  My mom used to do the same thing in card stores, so, it was moment that gave me pause, but that’s another topic for another day.  It wasn’t a birthday card, but as soon as I saw it, I knew just the recipient who would get a kick out of the card as much as I did.  So, I bought it, for no other reason than I know that it will elicit a smile and laughter from someone who has provided me with countless smiles and laughs over the years.  Greeting cards may be considered “old school”, but I still love reaching into my mailbox and pulling out a card, especially when it is not for a special occasion.  There’s no need to wait for a holiday to let someone know that you were thinking of them and to share some kindness.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

7 replies

  1. Delightful post, so very inspiring!
    I’ve also done the same thing with the greeting card(s)..I too was out and about and picked one up anyway. Even the littlest things that we think of unnecessary can “translate” into acts of kindness..!
    🙂
    Have a lovely day, thanks for sharing.
    🙂

    • Many thanks for taking the time to read the post and for sharing your kind words with me, as both are appreciated! I love to surprise people with even the smallest acts of kindness, as I know that the little things really do mean a lot. Enjoy your weekend!

  2. I still love sending and receiving “real” mail! I have a huge collection of cards I have picked up at garage sales and swap meets, but sometimes I see one in the store I cannot resist buying for someone. Its something so simple, but it truly brightens my day when I send and/or receive them! 🙂

  3. I like your concept that there does not have to be something ‘wrong’ in order for us to begin to try and make things ‘better’.
    Great place to begin each day.

Leave a Reply

