Bad Day

15dc0bfbdea1eae6f5321db49edf8803

I would like to say that today was a good day, but that would not be entirely true.  It has been a day that has left me feeling physically, emotionally, spiritually, and mentally drained with little to give to myself or to anyone else for that matter.  In the midst of it all, I did my best to do just one thing to make a positive difference in my life and in the lives of others.  I don’t know if I succeeded in doing so, but I tried and will try harder tomorrow.

The best thing I did for myself today was to confide in my special friend when the stress reached almost unbearable levels, as this person, time and time again, has been there to listen, offer sound advice, provide support and encouragement, and make me smile and laugh.  My special friend is the person I run to on good days and bad days, not to mention all the other days in between, and today, I could not run to them fast enough when I felt absolutely overwhelmed and dissolved in tears more than once in the privacy of my office.  The situation itself has not changed, but thanks to my friend, I made it through the day and feel better equipped to tackle another day.  So, thank you, my special friend, for once again talking me off the ledge!

In return, when several of my colleagues also were in the throes of a bad day, I was present for them and empathized with their pain and struggles.  Some days, working with men who are homeless and dealing with all of the barriers to housing, employment, mental health services, and a host of other things that most people take for granted takes its toll on one’s heart, mind, and soul, and today, for a number of reasons, was particularly difficult for several of us.  I think the world of the people I work with, and I hope that I was able to ease their worries and challenges with the assistance I offered.  I also am hopeful that today’s sad tears will be replaced with happy tears very soon.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

9 replies

  1. I know how you feel. Some days the barriers are just too extreme.

  2. Oh, Kristi, I hate hearing that. I’m having one of those days today, so I most definitely empathize. And good friends are absolute treasures, especially ones who are there during the hardest times.

    I hope today is going much better for you.

    • Gail, thank you so much, as that means more to me than you know. I am so sorry to hear that you, too, had a rough day, and I hope that we can end the week on a better note. You are a true gem and the best “neighbor”!

  3. Oh heavens 😦 I am so sorry you had a difficult day! I do think I understand without knowing the details from working in healthcare and I hope today has been a much, much better day! ❤

Leave a Reply

