Slumming through Saturday

5cd62125bc7411ce7e8c37537a65dcf6

It feels like today was over before it even began, as this long and rough week left me feeling exhausted and unmotivated.  My list of things to do largely was left undone, and my personal goals went unmet.  Blah!  I did make the time to do a little bit of good for myself and my daughters.

The one good thing I did for myself was to allow myself to sleep in this morning and then to start my day with a chat with my special friend.  The good night’s sleep and the good morning conversation helped me to manage this case of the blues as best I could and kept it from completely overwhelming me.  It may not have been one of my better days, but this morning’s duo of rest and friendship was a winning combo indeed.  I definitely need more of both in my life.

To welcome my daughters home from their trip with their dad, I took them to Dairy Queen for a dipped cone for my oldest daughter and Blizzards for my younger daughter and me.  It was the perfect summer evening to indulge a sweet treat, and the girls were excited to regale me with their vacation tales while cooling off with these decadent desserts.  While we may not need more desserts in our lives, we definitely need more times like these together.

Just one thing each day . . .

 



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

9 replies

  1. Sounds like a wonderful Saturday to me, sleep and ice cream 🙂

  2. A lazy day and ice creams sounds like a perfect day, especially after the challenges you faced during the week. 🙂 I completely understand the feeling of not accomplishing much on the to-list, but sometimes, it is exactly what is needed to re-group, decompress and nurture your body and mind. 🙂

  3. One of the ways I got myself through a period of ‘the blues’ was to accept that they were going to happen and allow myself one day a week of giving in and doing absolutely nothing. I am still doing that and coping really well on the other six days. However, I find if I do not allow myself at least one day a week to do nothing then I start to drag my feet the other days and then they start to turn into blue days.
    Here is to more slumming Saturdays!

Leave a Reply

