Off to a Good Start

732ce2a7ab85d0d097072a85b2431161

While Monday is the most maligned day of the week, there’s no stopping it, so, instead of fighting it, I am trying to embrace it.  I woke up this morning determined to make it a great day and an even better week, especially in light of the less than great week that I endured last week.  What better way to turn things around than to do something positive for myself and for others?

What I did for myself today may seem like one of the worst possible activities to engage in, especially on a rainy Monday evening.  I went to the dentist.  While this is not high on my list of enjoyable things to do, it was necessary, and I am glad that I did it.  My smile is one of my better assets, so, in order to safeguard my pearly whites, I make twice yearly visits to the dentist to make sure my teeth look and feel good and stay healthy.

It has been some time since I donated any items to a community organization that distributes new and gently used items to those who are in need of assistance.  So, over the weekend, I gathered up some of the clothing, books, and toys that we no longer need or use to pass along to someone else who can put them to good use, and I dropped them off this afternoon.  It felt good to clean out our home of such items, knowing that they will be given to people who will appreciate and use them.  It may not seem like much, but I know that it can make a big difference to someone else.

So far, this week is off to a good start, and I intend to build on this and keep it going all week long.  I hope you all do, as well.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , ,

7 replies

  1. I need to do both. Dentist, definitely. Hate it but gotta do it! I went through some of my skinny clothes yesterday and I just need to realize that I am not going back that small. Just donate!!

    • One of the best things about the dentist is that I love how squeaky clean my teeth feel afterward:) I also am not a “pack rat”, so, cleaning out and donating items help satisfy my compulsive tendencies. It’s a win-win!

  2. I love cleaning out closets etc. and donating the things we don’t need anymore. It is very rewarding in so many ways and I know it will also help the people receiving the donations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

