Here’s to Good Health

58b20846337e44fc7d33769dcb5600c9

When I scheduled a number of medical appointments months ago, I did not intend for some of them to fall during the same week, much less on the same day.  Yesterday, I had my dental check-up, and today, two positive things I did for myself were to have a bone density scan and a mammogram.  Again, these were not the most exciting things to do, but in order to stay healthy and to be able to continue to do everything I want to do in my life, I have to make sure that I am physically well and capable of doing so.  I do not have the results of the bone density scan yet, but I am relieved and happy to report that my mammogram results were normal.  And so concludes my week of medical appointments, but it is not the end of my healthy choices.

One of the positive things I did for someone else was not related to their physical health, but I would like to think that it gave their emotional health a bit of a boost.  When people close to me are dealing with difficult situations, I tend to feel helpless and wish that I could fix whatever they are struggling with, but I cannot always do so.  That said, I can listen, offer words of support, and throw in some humor to lighten the mood, and I did all three for my special friend today.  While it did not change the outcome of their difficult situation, I hope that it reminded them that they are loved, cared about, and supported by their family and friends.  Sometimes, knowing that people have your back makes all of the difference in the world when you feel alone in your personal struggles.

Just one thing each day . . .



Categories: Just One Thing Each Day

Tags: , , , , ,

3 replies

  1. Those are not all that fun of appointments, but now they are all done. 🙂
    And I couldn’t agree more that knowing someone genuinely has your back during difficult times indeed makes such a positive and comforting difference! 🙂

Leave a Reply

